We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tough lobster” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chart Room

Chart Room
565 Eden St, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
(207) 288-9740
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 120 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
utica nebraska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“tough lobster”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

i will stick with BEEF product was tough and overpriced in my opinion my wife enjoys seafood but even she was disappointed in the LOBSTER

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    206
    78
    42
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NB
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful year after year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Hi Terri & Jeff -- thanks again for great meals during our fall visit -- quality food, service (thank you Holly) & attention to detail. Our faves are sinfully fresh haddock any way you like, charbroiled salmon and prime rib roast -- but it's all good & so hard to choose! See you in June!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Give it a miss!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Ww were seated next to the kitchen entrance, although other tables were available, and were not allowed to move. My food was cold and my wife's was inedible, Prices are outragous!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChartroomBarHarbor90, Owner at Chart Room, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
I am sorry but you did not have a reservation and you did not want to wait for another table. You were angry that you could not get the early bird special that ended 45 minutes earlier and you were angry from that point on. Your waitress tried to make you happy but you let it be known that nothing was going to make you happy from that point on. You told us that you would be posting a bad review for the restaurant and I can see that you made good on your remark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Outstanding service, food and price, real value for the money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Have eaten there more than once and found it to be outstanding. Great value for the money. Great selection of seafood (brought in daily), meats and other. Excellent service with a full service bar. Accepts reservations which are a must in high season. All credit cards accepted also. Pleasant owners on site most times.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely Phenomenal!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We discovered this gem quite by accident. And how glad we are, that we did. Simply put, this is some of the finest, freshest, well prepared seafood you will find anywhere in the Northeast and that's a tall claim to back up. The Clam Chowder, the Lobster Stew, the fresh lobster prepared by their expert staff, simply has no match. The freshest ingredients all the way around. Out of 4 night's in Bar Harbor, we dined there 3 times!! Never got tired of it. Service is quick, friendly and very attentive. They get extremely busy during high season, especially around 6PM. Reservations are strongly advised. The first 2 nights the place was packed and we waited nearly 40 minutes for a table. But it was well worth it.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chart Room also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Chart Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chart Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.