We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reel Pizza & Reel Movies” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reel Pizza Cinerama

Reel Pizza Cinerama
33 Kennebec Pl, Bar Harbor, ME 04609-1803
(207) 288-3828
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 121 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Bar Harbor, Maine
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Reel Pizza & Reel Movies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Being a resident of Bar Harbor, one of the highlights of living in town is being able to visit "Reel Pizza" and often having an unforgettable experience. I'm hard-of-hearing, so I'm always grateful that they show many foreign films and they do have listening devices. My favorite pizza is the "Moonstruck", an Italian four-cheese pizza.

Each pizza named after a movie and the admission price is only six dollars. They do show rare films that come from Sundance and Cannes, along with Hollywood blockbusters. They have couches and armchairs as their seats along with small tables. They even have an intermission too, to get more pizza or another drink without missing the movie. If you get stuck between the moon and Bar Harbor, the best thing you can do is visit Reel Pizza. I've been moonstrucked to have the pizza again!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    23
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Such a fun, original concept!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you are expecting a clean, classy, non-shabby establishment, this is not the place for you.

If you like quirky, local, fun and memorable experiences, then you should consider spending an evening here.

Basically the concept is this: you pay $6 (insanely cheap - we are used to paying $13 a movie) to watch a new release movie (in our case, Frankenweenie) in an old room that feels agesssssss away from the megaplexes that most of us are used to watching movies at. You can choose to sit on old, ratty couches, and bring a foldable TV dinner style tray-thing to put your snacks on, or in movie theatre style seats (that are obviously not in the 'best' shape ever), where you have a sort of counter in front of you where you can place your food, beverages and snacks. And beyond having the usual popcorn, candy, nachos and chips (all at cheaper prices than the big movie theatres) at the concession counter, you can also order a full-on PIZZA, available with a huge array of toppings, including a number of more "exotic" ones. The toppings and choices of pizza are amazing, and the pizza itself is quite good. When your pizza is ready, a bingo board in the theatre lights up your number, and you pop out to get it. Really fun!

So if you are able to overlook the fact that this place could indeed use some housekeeping, it is such a fabulous and fun activity, totally original, not that expensive, with some pretty good pizza. We had dinner there AND saw a movie for less than any of our meals in Bar Harbor.

Really a fun evening! I'm sure if you had kids they would love it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good pizza,”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Needs some housekeeping.
Pizzza was good, wine was allright.
Sofas were fun.
Staff had a birthday party, patrons did not.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a great concept!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Who wouldn't rather have a slice of awesome pizza and a beer while watching a movie.

Great staff great food and entertainment.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iheartadam
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A must do with family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We took my 16 year old sister and 7 year old son. They thought it was so neat to eat pizza and watch a movie. The 2 min intermission was a nice touch. And so far even with the ticket price it was our cheapest dinner in Bar Harbor. I liked the taste of the pizza, but my husband thought it was mediocre.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reel Pizza Cinerama also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Reel Pizza Cinerama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reel Pizza Cinerama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.