We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rosalie's - Best deal in Bar Harbor - Been going there for many years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosalie's Pizza

Rosalie's Pizza
46 Cottage St, Bar Harbor, ME 04609-1832
207-288-5666
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 105 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Montclair, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Rosalie's - Best deal in Bar Harbor - Been going there for many years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Whether with my family, friends or just my wife and myself, Rosalie's is a place where we always feel welcome and can count on a consistent quality pizza.
Now we're from NJ - metro NYC - is this NYC pizza - no - but I'm not in NYC I'm in Maine when I go to Rosalie's. I've hiked or climbed all day. Rosalie's is the perfect end to that day.
Couple of tips - Grab your seats first - it's seat yourself. Booth's in the back on the first floor are the best . There is seating upstairs. After finding a seat you need to send someone to the counter to place your order.
Also closed Monday's in non peak season.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    160
    59
    22
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Pole
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“3 of 4 stars (good, casual dining).”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

(see explanation of ratings below)

Go--- if for nothing else--- to see the grand, old Wurlitzer juke box they have. It's got the active bubbles streaming up the sides and a carousal full of old 45's.

Oh, and pizza is good, too.

About my ratings:

Only high-priced dining establishments can garner five stars. Until TripAdvisor realizes that a fast food joint cannot possibly be ranked equally with a $100 per person place, I need to draw the line somewhere. If we were only talking about the quality and presentation of the food, it would be a different story. But, as we know, TripAdvisor's rankings take into account the entire dining experience.

Therefore, I divide restaurants into three categories (and I wish TripAdvisor would do the same):

1) fast food and "fast-casual", low-priced (no table service).

2) casual, mid-priced dining (table service, average entrée price: $10-$20).

3) fine, high-priced dining (linen napkins, no plastic cups, no TV's in dining room, average entrée priced at more than $20, can vary depending on the city).

High-priced dining can earn a max of five stars. Mid-priced dining can earn a max of four stars. Fast food can earn a max of three stars.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Better than average pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I thought the pizza at Rosalies was really good. I got a 14 inch pizza which had a really nice thin and crispy crust. I think if the pizza is any bigger the dough starts to get soggy. I really like that you can see them making the dough fresh behind the counter all during the night. This place is always crowded but worth the wait.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Homemade Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great Pizza and quick service. Homestyle pizza with great pricing! Could have a better beer selection, but yummy nonetheless.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
“Bad Pizza”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Horrible pizza and awful garlic bread. If you have eaten real NY pizza do not go here as you will be
severely disappointed.
Order at the counter and grab a table (either upstairs or downstairs)
Ate upstairs in a booth and ate a large pizza with hamburger, onions, and mushrooms
(bland sauce with unflavorful crust and watery toppings) garlic bread with mozzarella (sliced mozzarella was cheap)
, and two sodas.
$31.00 without tip
This place is so busy on evenings. No other good pizza options (Teds is nearby but it bad too) in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosalie's Pizza also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Rosalie's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosalie's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.