We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky breakfast stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trailhead Cafe

Trailhead Cafe
37 Cottage Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
207-288-9592
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The Trailhead Cafe is the local year round source for the finest coffee, tea, espresso, breakfast sandwiches, and picnic lunches in Bar Harbor. Family owned, friendly, year-round community cafe offering Acadia National Park information.
Bronx, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Funky breakfast stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Very cool place to go for great coffee and breakfast . Wait staff were very pleasant . I was very impressed with their bagels and I'm from NY

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    13
    10
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cute local coffee shop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just stopped by for hot chocolate, it was yummy. Cute location but disgusting bathroom. Scones looked delicious but I had just eaten.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great local coffee shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Very good coffee. Toasted bagel with peanut butter. A place to sit and read in the morning. Not a Starbucks. This isn't a meal place, but it's a very good coffee house

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Coffee and a muffin”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Since we couldn't find a menu online, we didn't know quite what to expect. The baked goods were tasty and the coffee was fresh, but don't expect this to be a full-service, sit-down breakfast spot. There was not much variety, but they had had a power outage the night before and lost some menu items.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Local Lattes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This funky little spot in downtown Bar Harbor was my morning pit stop after leaving the hotel. A converted space that felt a little thrown-together and hodgepodge was a friendly establishment for a tourist like me.

The lattes I had were well-done, and the baked goods were also quite good (the lemon poppy muffin being the stand out).

In a town without a name brand like Starbucks, this made a very cool substitute for the morning pick-me-up.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trailhead Cafe also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Trailhead Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trailhead Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.