We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to start our morning...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jordan's Restaurant

Jordan's Restaurant
80 Cottage St, Bar Harbor, ME 04609-1441
207-288-3586
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 122 restaurants in Bar Harbor
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Cedar Crest, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A great way to start our morning...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The breakfast was yummy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! My husband was in love with his bluebarry pancakes. The service there was wonderful considering the large amount of people that were being served. When we asked one of the locals they said we had to have breakfast there at some point during our visit.. We were not dissappointed!!!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Owner at Jordan's Restaurant, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We guaranty that we will give you the best restaurant experience that we can. EVERYDAY.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    268
    176
    65
    33
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bar Harbor, Maine, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“the place to eat breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

this is a outstanding place to have breakfast. it a place that the locals eat and they are busy right up until they close at 2pm. the blueberry pancakes are great.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nothing special. You're average boring breakfast place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

"Jordan's Restaurant" is suppose to be in every travel book on Maine and New England as the best pancake eatery in town. That is far from the truth. First off, what place in their right mind that sells pancakes in Maine decides to charge extra for real Maine maple syrup, otherwise you're stuck with Log Cabin. I went here once recently and while the service was nice, the food was dreadful. The taste of my pancakes were bland and there was not a large selection of blueberries.

Now, in all fairness, I live in Bar Harbor and have eaten at almost all the other breakfast places in town and I stand by my decision that "Cafe This Way" serves the best blueberry pancakes in the village. I came here when the summer ended and did not enjoy my meal. There was no passion, soul, or heart in the making of these pancakes. The cooks are careless with their food.

Also, they like to shove their political agenda into people's faces. They had a sign of a Republican candidate hanging in their store front window and I'm a big political lover, but I don't care who a business is supporting for town council and it's not fair to the workers who may not be supporting that specific candidate. If the manager wants to put up her political agenda at her own home that is totally up to her, but please not in a place of business. Sounds like a way to draw in the Republicans and leave out the Democrats.

Anyway, I recommend another breakfast place like "Cafe This Way" or "Two Cats". I only had the pancake, so I am not speaking for their other food items, which could be good. Perhaps maybe in the future, I'll return and try something else and see.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Oh, my!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

If you are in Bar Harbor, you have to start your day here. Stout coffee, Maine blueberry pancakes, home fries and one in our party had a delicious beer-battered fish sandwich. It was Christmas time and before we left the staff gave us little sacks filled with cookies and other sweets they had made and displayed on the counter. Great service and great food in a delightful little town.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just Right for Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Perfect place for a quick and good omelette, friendly service, and great mix of locals and visitors. Open for breakfast and lunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jordan's Restaurant also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Jordan's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jordan's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.