We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine food without the pretense” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe This Way

Cafe This Way
14 1/2 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
207-288-4483
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 105 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Chicago
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fine food without the pretense”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Cafe This Way does require a bit of direction, as the entrance is not on the main street. But it's right in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor and it's a fine place to eat. Food is excellent, and service is fine. Atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. And there is parking, which comes in handy during the summer.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    725
    326
    85
    26
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Metuchen, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful! Food for the Imagination...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Have visited multiple time over the past few years. Definitely one of the best on MDI.
Not the typical fare of most restaurants. Café This Way has plates that are a work of art; something for the eclectic imagination. Found a volume of Louisa May Alcott's lesser known writings in their library while waiting for the food.

My favorites have been the pork chops, chicken and mussels dishes.

The mixed greens has an especially good dressing - or maybe it's the added nuts.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Loved the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

We happened to walk by and read the menu. It is in a side street and not easy to see. Reservations are needed. We had the noodle dish and loved the flavor and the amount of fish was large. The prices are average and the service was outstanding. I highly recommend this place when in Bar Harbor. Great selection of wines and beer.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I made a point to visit this café based on the reviews I read. It did not disappoint. I loved the café feel. My husband loves to go out for breakfast. I usually find it boring. However, the menu had so many wonderful options, I enjoyed the whole experience.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast in Bar Harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We had to wait a bit even though it was fairly early in the morning. Food was good and worth the wait. The only down side was too long a wait for coffee refills the morning we were there. Parking can be a problem also.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe This Way also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Cafe This Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe This Way, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.