We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for "special occasion" meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Havana

Havana
318 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609-1637
207-288-2822
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Havana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 120 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Cuban, Latin, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Wayman
Description: American fine dining with a Latin flair. Havana has an elegant modern atmosphere, an extensive wine list, knowledgeable staff and a sophisticated menu. Seafood, vegetarian and meat dishes are flavored with intelligence and respect and change weekly, sometimes daily. Havana is located in downtown Bar Harbor, just a short stroll up Main Street.
acadia4us
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place for "special occasion" meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We wanted to find an extra special place to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary and Havana turned out to the be the perfect place. The service was absolutely top notch (very friendly, knowledgeable and attentive) and the food was incredible! I had the scallops and my husband had the surf & turf (swordfish & NY strip steak) and we both LOVED our meals! Great beer and wine list to go along with any taste. Although we were too full for desert, our waiter brought us a very nice customized "Happy Anniversary" plate topped with two small desert treats! We agreed it was the best meal we've had in recent memory! 10 Stars for Sure!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    105
    54
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Connecticut
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A treat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great service. Wonderful food. Interesting choices. We were there at the end of the season and there were many regulars that were local residents. That's a positive sign!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations, our best meal over our extended weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I am not a huge Cuban food fan, but the wife wanted to go for our anniversary dinner. This place completely exceeded my expectations, even with the fantastic reviews. Start to finish everything was top notch and was a "10". There was a complimentary salmon on a chip, which was very good and the bread was great. My wife had the mushroom spring rolls and I had the black bean soup, both were excellent. For the main course the wife had the seafood paella, which was a big portion and she loved it. I had the filet mignon. The fillet was probably the best I have ever had...it was perfectly seasoned, peppercon-crusted and pan-seared, with a rye whiskey/sweet cream pan sauce. The beef just melted in your mouth and the seasonings were succulent. The wait staff was fantastic and made us feel very welcome. They were extremely knowledgeable and very attentive. It was teh best meal we had in recent memory. 10 out of 10.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great restaurant for a birthday celebration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Celebrated my birthday here, very good meal with attentive service. The lamb and scallops were excellent. The only average item was the farm salad which did not have much flavor in the dressing to compliment the egg. The wine list is extensive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our new favorite in Maine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We made a reservation at this marvelous place on a very busy Friday night in Bar Harbor. The streets were full of people; it was cold and rainy. We were ushered into the warm cozy space and were absolutely delighted with our meals. We each started with a very good mixed drink, had the House Salad and the Spring Rolls. Our entrees, a Lobster Paella and a Lobster Moquequa were wonderful - especially the Moqueca! - The desserts we had were a perfect size, and the Date Sweet Cake was superb with the cardamom whipped cream.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.