We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lobster Roll” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Street Cafe

West Street Cafe
76 West St, Bar Harbor, ME 04609-1848
207-288-5242
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 119 restaurants in Bar Harbor
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Lobster Roll”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Ate here one night with the family. I had the lobster roll and it was the best I had during our stay in BH. They had a great diverse menu. The kids and husband all enjoyed their meal.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    229
    170
    53
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northeast
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Value and good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Went here with four adults and two small kids. Very kid friendly. Great blueberry martini to start. Seafood all was very good. Side salad was an ample portion as well as nice dinner rolls. Very casual atmosphere which is great on vacation.

Friendly waitress, Joan I believe was more than accommodating.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food, fast service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were seated quickly, the server took our orders quickly and the food was reasonably priced and tasted great

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome blueberry pie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

It's a great local restaurant. Fresh lobster and awesome blueberry pie. Price is reasonable and good service.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“So many better places”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Salad had frozen celery, stuffed lobster was overcooked so meat was dry, the steak frys were burnt - almost black. We sat at 7:30. Service was friendly but kitchen was slow. Dishes were not cleared before dessert was served so we had a hard time fitting plates on the table. Location is good but just down the block is better food. Also, many flying bugs, we sat inside and had nats and flying ants on our table.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
76WSC, Manager at West Street Cafe, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We appreciate your feedback, as it allows us to address any issues we may have at our restaurant. I sincerely apologize that your family did not have a more pleasant experience here. We always aim for highest standards of food quality and service and regret that you did not experience this. We have indeed been experiencing issues with our salad unit due to the high temperatures and humidity we are experiencing lately. The preparation of your lobster dish does occasionally overcook the end portions of the lobster claws and we are working hard to address that issue. I truly regret that myself or other management were not informed of your unpleasant experience, as we would have been more than happy to address the situation while you were at the restaurant. If you have any further concerns or would like to speak with me directly, please feel free to contact the restaurant and ask to speak with Jessica. Again, I sincerely apologize that you did not have a more pleasant experience with us and look forward to correcting the issues you have mention. Thank you, West Street Cafe Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Street Cafe also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to West Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Street Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.