We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Ten” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mache Bistro

Mache Bistro
321 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609-1409
+1 207-288-0447
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 120 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Price range: $17 - $25
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Seafood, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Mache is a casual neighborhood bistro in downtown Bar Harbor, Maine. We serve rustic French food cooked with the finest produce, freshest seafood, and organic & natural meats available.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Top Ten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Saturday night, September 7, my wife and I had one of the finest meals ever - in our top five.

We have traveled some and always thought the best food we ever had was at The Old Swiss House in Lake Lucern, Switzerland. It may still be the best we have enjoyed, but it now has competition stateside.

Mache is a true bistro. It is small and intimate. It is somewhat expensive - we spent nearly $200 including tip for our two meals and two cocktails. I had the duck leg confit and it was wonderful. Even the coffee was specially good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    100
    29
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I ate there a few nights ago and it was one of our top two favorite meals in Bar Harbor. The restaurant is small so be sure to make a reservation. Our entire meal was thoughtful in presentation and flavor. Our favorites were the appetizers - a poached pear with blue cheese and also a shrimp and chorizo dish. Both were terrific. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best meal of our trip in Bar Harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

If you only eat in one restaurant please eat here - you will need to make reservations a couple of weeks in advance. I think they have a walk in table - however, we watched a large number of people being turned away throughout our meal - don't be one of them. It is a small restaurant (may be 12 tables) at the non-busy end of Cottage Street, but still easily walkable to. This restaurant is one of our all-time favorites - everything we had was outstanding. Even the bread was some of the best I have enjoyed outside of France. We were very well looked after, and the hanger steak is up there with the best I have ever had. They deserve the rating they have. Enjoy

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food - a great change of pace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The food, wine and service at Mache Bistro were all outstanding. It is a very small place (maybe 15 tables), so call and make a reservation. The menu is French-inspired (we had quail and hanger steak) which makes for a great change of pace from the many lobster places in Bar Harbor. Very casual, but oh so very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elverson, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the Best Meals We Ever Had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We received a gift certificate, as a surprise, to Mâché Bistro (recommended by the owners of the B&B where we stayed) from our family while we were on vacation in Bar Harbor. We were apprehensive when we first arrived because there are only about ten tables but they are close together. However, we wound up having a conversation with the couple at the table next to ours and had a wonderful time. The food was out of this world and the company was great, as well as the overall atmosphere. The staff was very attentive and professional. Mâché Bistro is a must if you are in Bar Harbor!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mache Bistro also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Mache Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mache Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.