We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrated our 14th Anniversary at Mache Bistro! Not disappointed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mache Bistro

Mache Bistro
321 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609-1409
+1 207-288-0447
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 120 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Price range: $17 - $25
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Seafood, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Mache is a casual neighborhood bistro in downtown Bar Harbor, Maine. We serve rustic French food cooked with the finest produce, freshest seafood, and organic & natural meats available.
Southeast US
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Celebrated our 14th Anniversary at Mache Bistro! Not disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

What a wonderful place! Outside of building doesn't do the restaurant justice. We almost cancelled our reservations after driving by, but glad we decided to stick with it because of the high ratings on Trip Advisor. We were seated promptly at 6:30 pm with reservations. We were almost immediately served water and the glasses never went below half throughout the 2 hour dinner. Everything we ordered (appetizer, salad, entree and dessert) was absolutely delicious and the pace of the meal was perfect. We highly recommend this neighborhood gem to anyone looking for a fantastic evening out for dinner in Bar Harbor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    100
    29
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I had researched restaurants in the Bar Harbor area and Mache Bistro was one of the highly rated restaurants (according to trip advisor). And I can tell you that we were not disappointed! The food was excellent! We split the confit duck which was amazing and the swordfish and both exceeded our expectation. We had a great experience and would highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, MA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great dinner!! Wonderful service and terrific experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

You must make reservations well in advance as this is a tiny, but very well received restaurant. We had delicious apps, good drinks and very good dinners. Highly recommend this for a favorite occasion!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Still Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We visit Mache every year. It is a small restaurant but the food is inventive and very good and the service is good as well.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

After the boring, bland, deep fried experiences in Bar Harbor, Mache was a fantastic culinary experience. We shared the best shrimp and chorizo appetizer ever created OMG it was so good. I had the bouillabaisse mmmmm and my wife had the hanger steak. All just perfect. The chocolate torte dessert she had was exquisite as were the house special white wines. Spend a few bucks more and be satisfied beyond belief.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mache Bistro also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Mache Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mache Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.