We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Dining without Pretension” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mache Bistro

Mache Bistro
321 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609-1409
+1 207-288-0447
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 121 restaurants in Bar Harbor
Price range: $17 - $25
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Seafood, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Mache is a casual neighborhood bistro in downtown Bar Harbor, Maine. We serve rustic French food cooked with the finest produce, freshest seafood, and organic & natural meats available.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fine Dining without Pretension”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Mache Bistro is a lovely, intimate dining experience. Anticipate a fine dining experience without any pretension. The interior is small and always over-flowing with locals, seasonal residents and tourists alike. I've had the pleasure of dining here many times and anticipate returning many more. The menu changes "nightly" taking advantage of local fresh seasonal ingredients and the food is always thoughtfully and superbly prepared.

The menu offers Beginnings, Salad, Small Plates, Entrees and of course, Dessert. Portions are very generous - being salad lovers we were very pleasantly surprised/happy with our plates. If you are questioning how much to order, the friendly and very attentive (without hovering) staff know their menu well and will be able to assist in your selections. They are also extremely knowledgeable about wine pairings. The wine menu is outstanding and local beers are also featured.

We have always been very pleased with our menu choices and their duck preparations e.g. smoked duck and duck leg confit and beef preparations e.g. hanger steak and beef bourguignon are outstanding. Their local chevre is a must. Save room for dessert - I believe the chocolate torte may be a standing menu item and if you like chocolate....

Make reservations at least several days (if not a week) in advance if you are on vacation with limited time. Come with a sweater as it tends to get chilly. You will be equally welcomed if wearing a dinner jacket or casual sweater. Mache Bistro is one of the few restaurants on the island that women can "get away" with wearing a simple cocktail dress. Like-wise, I've worn jeans with a nice blouse and have felt equally at home.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    284
    87
    28
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great flavours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

A very nice ambience in this cosy bistro in Bar Harbor.
At first the menu looks rather challenging with combinations that you might think would clash ( check out menu online).
However the flavours come together very well. The duck breast with smoked duck & sweet potato hash was excellent.
A grilled bread salad with mushrooms & Asiago cheese was good, & the very large scallops dusted with pumpkin seed were excellent also. This was served on a bed of polenta which complimented well.
The Bouillabaisse was a very good mixed seafood stew (haddock, prawns, scallops, calamari) with a minimal amount of broth. It was indeed good but bore no resemblance to bouillabaisse found in the South of France.
Service was fine.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwell, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great spot known mostly by locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I like to seek out restaurants that are good and frequented mostly by the residents in the area ( not a "tourist trap" ) and the place in Bar Harbor is Mache Bistro. Cozy, with great service and exceptional food. Overall, reasonably priced and very much a restaurant you would enjoy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
“Great Small Intimate Setting with Delicious Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Love the small setting and great service and food. Recommend reservations as the place fills up in the evenings and walk ins were turned away multiple times. The wine selection and wine mixes are good. Nothing ridiculous was listed or pushed. Small selection of local beers also.

We had the following:
Appetizers:
Cheese plate - good collection of cheeses (nothing ridiculously different)

Main Courses:
Flank steak with potatoes, blue cheese and au jus - tender steak with flavorful potatoes was delicious
Pork tenderloin with potatoes and au jus - scrumptious succulent pork done right.

Deserts:
Crème Caramel - Delectable, Delicious, and mouth watering. The perfect mix of sauce and crème.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worth every bit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

At the edge of Bar Harbar is a little gem... Mache Bistro! I read several reviews from different sources about all kinds of restaurants, and this was worth the planning. Could not get a reservation, so we took the chance and got a seat at the bar. Great food - pork belly starter is amazing, and great meal - flank steak and lobster roll. Make you plans and enjoy

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mache Bistro also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Mache Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mache Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.