We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great flavours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mache Bistro

Mache Bistro
321 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609-1409
+1 207-288-0447
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 120 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Price range: $17 - $25
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Seafood, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Mache is a casual neighborhood bistro in downtown Bar Harbor, Maine. We serve rustic French food cooked with the finest produce, freshest seafood, and organic & natural meats available.
Geelong
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great flavours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

A very nice ambience in this cosy bistro in Bar Harbor.
At first the menu looks rather challenging with combinations that you might think would clash ( check out menu online).
However the flavours come together very well. The duck breast with smoked duck & sweet potato hash was excellent.
A grilled bread salad with mushrooms & Asiago cheese was good, & the very large scallops dusted with pumpkin seed were excellent also. This was served on a bed of polenta which complimented well.
The Bouillabaisse was a very good mixed seafood stew (haddock, prawns, scallops, calamari) with a minimal amount of broth. It was indeed good but bore no resemblance to bouillabaisse found in the South of France.
Service was fine.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    100
    29
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwell, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great spot known mostly by locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I like to seek out restaurants that are good and frequented mostly by the residents in the area ( not a "tourist trap" ) and the place in Bar Harbor is Mache Bistro. Cozy, with great service and exceptional food. Overall, reasonably priced and very much a restaurant you would enjoy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
“Great Small Intimate Setting with Delicious Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Love the small setting and great service and food. Recommend reservations as the place fills up in the evenings and walk ins were turned away multiple times. The wine selection and wine mixes are good. Nothing ridiculous was listed or pushed. Small selection of local beers also.

We had the following:
Appetizers:
Cheese plate - good collection of cheeses (nothing ridiculously different)

Main Courses:
Flank steak with potatoes, blue cheese and au jus - tender steak with flavorful potatoes was delicious
Pork tenderloin with potatoes and au jus - scrumptious succulent pork done right.

Deserts:
Crème Caramel - Delectable, Delicious, and mouth watering. The perfect mix of sauce and crème.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worth every bit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

At the edge of Bar Harbar is a little gem... Mache Bistro! I read several reviews from different sources about all kinds of restaurants, and this was worth the planning. Could not get a reservation, so we took the chance and got a seat at the bar. Great food - pork belly starter is amazing, and great meal - flank steak and lobster roll. Make you plans and enjoy

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Good, but let the fish shine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I were seated promptly for our 7PM reservation, but we did notice another couple came in after us (but still before 7PM) who had a 7PM reservation and were not seated until 7:20PM.
The atmosphere is intimate and the music is fantastic.
We ordered the clam bisque and the word "cream" in the description did make me wonder...and sure enough, it was very heavy on the cream. Too much for me to really enjoy it. But, the description was accurate.
My husband had the haddock, which was prepared very nicely with a pumpkin seed crust. But it was then smothered in oily sauteed vegetables, which seeped into the lovely haddock. My husband moved those to the side as quickly as possible, but we wished they had been on the side to begin with.
I had the swordfish, and the tapenade on the top was fine and complimented the fish nicely.
One issue we had is that my husband had tried to arrange a surprise for me (it was my birthday) -- he had called the restaurant in advance and left a message, but no one had returned his call. So, he was left wondering....
We will probably not return before trying Havana, which was raved about by some guests at our hotel.
Many customers were dressed very casually (jeans, even sweatshirts), which is maybe a Bar Habor thing -- but we were surprised.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mache Bistro also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Mache Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mache Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.