We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food; creative beers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rupununi American Bar and Grill - CLOSED

Rupununi American Bar and Grill
119 Main St, Bar Harbor, ME 04609-1880
207-288-2886
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Firefly Lane
Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Average food; creative beers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Many vegetarian options ... on the menu only.
I had to change my choice many times as some veggie entrées/sandwich were not available.

Food is good, nothing special.
Convenient location

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    79
    73
    44
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We ate outside, and their clam chowder and blueberry pie were so good that we made time later in our trip to go back and get some more!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopersburg
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice location, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This restaurant is located right in the middle of Bar Harbor. Both outside and inside seating available. Food was good, bit pricey, but typical for location. Service was a bit slow, our server seemed to forget about us. Lots of seafood dishes, great salads.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Connecticut, USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great location, average food and service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Ate there July 5th because it was the first restaurant we walked by after parking. Sat on the patio which was a great setting. Service was on the slow side and the food we ate was average. They probably can get away with it because of their location but I would not eat there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice cafe setting in downtown BH”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Visited for lunch and sat outside. Lots of people walking by during July 4th holiday making for a fun atmosphere.

Ordered the buffalo chicken sandwich and the haddock sandwich. Both tasted decent. No complaints, but nothing special. A good number of micro brews were offered and the beer we ordered was cold.

Waitstaff was friendly and fast. Pricing was reasonable considering the location of the restaurant (right smack downtown). Parking is downtown Bar Harbor parking which can be either very easy or very hard depending on when you go.

We would go again, but there are so many good restaurants in BH, if you want something a little off the beaten path, I'd look elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rupununi American Bar and Grill also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rupununi American Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.