We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rupununi American Bar and Grill - CLOSED

Rupununi American Bar and Grill
119 Main St, Bar Harbor, ME 04609-1880
207-288-2886
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Firefly Lane
Ville Platte
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food, good service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Enjoyed the clam chowder! yumm! Blueberry lemonaid with vodka...nice! Service was real good! All in all, a real nice lunch for a group of 10 people.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    79
    73
    44
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holden Beach, NC
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go back.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We mistakenly went to this restaurant having thought we saw paella on the menu. I ordered a lobster sautéed in butter. The portion was more like a large shrimp or else I am not familiar with lobster "sizing" at least for what they charged for this dish. Rather than being "sautéed" in butter, the lobster was more correctly submerged in butter. Very ordinary.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlsbad
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Nice bathrooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I had a pint, using that as an excuse to use the bathroom. The place is huge! Nice selection of poison at the bar. Big place with plenty of seats, and can sit outside. I would go back. The bar scene on BH is crazy, so make sure you have this in the loop.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great people watching”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We ate outside on the patio as it was a pleasant evening and you are right in the middle of everything. The patio seating is good for people watching on the street! The food was good, however, my husbands order was incorrect when they brought it out. The wait staff was friendly and prompt. Although we did not go in, they have a decent looking bar on the side of the patio that seemed to be a destination for small groups. Overall a decent restaurant.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Huge fish on the fish and chips!🐟”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We went with another couple and each couple ordered a fish and chips dinner and a lamb burger. We could have simple ordered and split the two fish and chips. Three large pieces of haddock on each, with plenty of fries and a nice mustardy coleslaw. Lamb burgers were cooked to order and the cucumber sauce was a nice accompaniment. Service was okay...we were there on a Monday night in September... The place was almost empty and we didn't seem to be a priority for the waitstaff. But very good overall

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rupununi American Bar and Grill also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rupununi American Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.