We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgic dining...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Route 66

Route 66
21 Cottage St, Bar Harbor, ME 04609-1809 (Formerly Freddies Route 66)
207-288-3708
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 120 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Route 66 Restaurant offers one of the largest menus in Bar Harbor. Stop in for lunch and try one of our signature Cadillac Burger's or get your fill of Fresh Maine Lobster with our Lobster Trap, a traditional Fresh Maine Lobster Roll served with a cup of Maine Lobster Bisque.Our Dinner menu offers something for everyone from Burger's and Salads to Hand Cut Steaks, Homemade Slow Roasted BBQ Ribs to a Fresh Maine Seafood Pasta. We also offer a bar area with nine-draft lines specializing in locally brewed beer. For your sweet tooth try one of our famous 50's style Milkshakes.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Nostalgic dining...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This place is easy to miss from the street but well worth a visit. as you entre, it feels as though you've entered a shop selling 50s memorabilia; the place is literally choca full of interesting stuff including the model railway running round ....

The menu is extensive with all the American favourites....I chose lobster roll and fries, very nice but the fries were soggy. Service is good and you can buy a memento of your visit. Prices are on a par with other restaurants. Worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    106
    66
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great foor, great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had so much fun just being inside the place. Everywhere you look you can discover new things from history. We even spotted a license plate from Holland.
And to find ut the food is as good as the service and the views, that made our day.
A great first stop in Bar Harbor for us.
Will absolutely visit again if we visit Bar Harbor again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, Massachusetts
1 review
“Upscale meals in a 50's atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very good service by Nikki, excellent menu selection with very competitive pricing. My daughter ordered the veggie burger, which she thoroughly enjoyed. My wife ordered the seafood pie with shrimp, haddock, scallops and lobster in a pastry puff. I had the broiled Lobster dinner which included clam chowder-which was very good- salad, potato & blueberry pie topped off with vanilla ice ceam for dessert. Even better, the Lobster dinner turned out to be one of their featured special that night ! All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and look forward to returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unique spot for a good lunch in Bar Harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great service, big servings, nice options for lunch, in a fun, nostalgic environment. Take some time to look around, lots of memories for the older crowd...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Vintage 50/60s decor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Food was average, desert was excellent (recess peanut butter pie) . Price was a bit better than the rest of the food establishments in the area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Route 66 also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Route 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Route 66, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.