We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXHILARATING ADVENTURE NOT FOR THE FAINT OF HEART” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Land Bridge to Bar Island

Land Bridge to Bar Island
1 Bridge Street, Bar Harbor, ME
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 19 Attractions in Bar Harbor
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Attraction details
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“EXHILARATING ADVENTURE NOT FOR THE FAINT OF HEART”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Bar Island is an island directly across from the town of Bar Harbor. When it is high tide you need a boat to get to it, but at low tide you have a land bridge that you can easily walk. it is bone dry, but there are a lot of little rocks and you have to watch where you walk. When you get to Bar Island there is a walking trail, and I use that term loosely, to the top of the island where you have a splendid view of Bar Harbor. The trail starts off easy enough but soon becomes nothing more than a trail of rocks. You have to watch your footing. Then there isn't any trail and you have to rely on people coming down to tell you how to get the rest of the way. It is uphill for most of it and you want to turn back all the time,but you persevere and finally make it to the top. After you look at the impressive view, you then have to go back down that treacherous trail to get back to the flats. We got lost but a hiker coming behind us showed us the way. So don't expect a manicured park trail. This one ain't for sissies. And if you get caught on Bar Island when the tide changes, you are there for 10-12 hours. :-)))

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    100
    13
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Natural Resource - Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The land bridge to Bar Island is a quick walk right in town, and one not be missed. Check the tide chart to see when the tide is out and you can walk to Bar Island, spotting tons of sea life all around you, left behind by the outgoing tide. But don't play it too close to the tide, it comes in quick and you don't want to get stranded.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unique and Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were so busy on our trip to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park that we almost didn't get a chance to walk the land bridge over to Bar Island. Fortunately, though, we timed it right on our last day in Bar Harbor and walked out there. A lot of fun and interesting to see Bar Harbor from a different vantage point. We weren't prepared, but next time, we will pack a picnic lunch and hike the trails on the island itself. Don't miss this!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fun thing to do, but not a scenic highlight”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Walking to Bar Island is unquestionably popular--it drew the biggest crowds anywhere on my visit. It's an easy, level, 20 minute walk, with views of the harbor all the way (the walk is over flat stones, not sand). It is broad enough to accommodate the crowds, But of course, the view is pretty much the same all the way, and pretty much the same view you get anywhere in Bar Harbor--and to my taste, not as strikingly beautiful as any of the high spots in Acadia. My own experience was not heightened at all by a group of motorcyclists who came through--not that they were in any way obnoxious, but you can get brushed to the side by motor traffic anywhere. Good place for an easy stroll, and maybe a sunset if the time is right, but many other spots on the island are much more beautiful.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Desert, Maine
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A Highlight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

When the tide is low, you can walk to this island in ten minutes, take a twenty minute walk on the island and get great views back to Bar Harbor. Just pay attention to the water level and don't get caught on the island as you will have a six hour wait to get back!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Land Bridge to Bar Island also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Land Bridge to Bar Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Land Bridge to Bar Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.