We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We survived lobster ice cream!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ben and Bill's Chocolate Emporium

Ben and Bill's Chocolate Emporium
66 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 119 restaurants in Bar Harbor
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Crossett
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“We survived lobster ice cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Myh husband had read about Ben and Bill's in a travel magazine before our cruise to Bar Harbor. This was a must visit for us. We did try the lobster ice cream. The taste was interesting and actually full of frozen bits of lobster but what a great conversation piece!!! The staff in this delightful ice cream and chocolate shop was soooo helpful and friendly. The ice cream is delicious...they have many other flavors besides lobster. They were making homemade fude and it was divine. A great stop in Bar Harbor~~~

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    40
    33
    18
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lothian, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Blueberry icecream is the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I went expecting to try the lobster ice cream, but when the lady in front of me did and I saw her reaction, I knew I better not. I settled for the blueberry and I was so happy I did. It was so fresh and delicious. I will be back for more.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iheartadam
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Gazillion ice cream flavors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

They have a gazillion flavors. It is pricey, but what place here isn't. They also have lobster flavored ice cream if you are brave enough to try!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great ice cream comes with long line and high price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was tough to rate. They have so many flavors of ice cream (plus fudge and chocolates), and I absolutely loved the novel flavors I picked out (did not try the lobster ice cream). I thought the portion size was good, but we did spend $9.95 for two ice creams (it is located in the downtown area of a major tourist area, after all). There are public benches outside to sit on. The downside is there’s a line that continually snakes in on the left, and then loops around by the ice cream cases, past the register and out the door. They have signs and verbal shouts to keep moving. Hence, it’s VERY difficult to see the flavors offered or to see the actual ice cream. If you hesitate, they get surly, and you hold up a big line of people. So I rate it highly on the flavors and taste, but poorly on the line and cost.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“The Best Ice Cream!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

If you love ice cream or candy (who doesn't???) then this is a must visit! It is generally busy so bring your patience with you....the staff are sometimes cranky and push you along so bring your patience with you! I promise you, it will be soooo worth it. The ice cream is super smooth and creamy and the candy is delicious with a huge variety of flavors for both! Pricey but again...worth it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben and Bill's Chocolate Emporium also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Ben and Bill's Chocolate Emporium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben and Bill's Chocolate Emporium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.