We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and relaxing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added West Street Hotel to your Saves list
West Street Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 West Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great and relaxing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Such a wonderful place. Complimentary snack and drinks and a beautiful view from my room and the pool. It's nautical theme is perfect for the area. Just a walk away from the town and the park. Such a picturesque and romantic area. Not much to do for the children, but definitely a coupkes get away! Wonderful room service, concierge, ans front desk!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at West Street Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear kat_r0d,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your relaxing stay with us, our roof-top infinity pool is a great area for guests over eighteen, making this a great couples retreat- right across the street our guests have access to our Bar Harbor Club- a kid friendly area, including a kids club and a kids pool. We are a great escape within the heart of downtown, I am very happy to hear that we were able to provide excellent accommodations in the perfect location.

If your travels bring you back to the Bar Harbor area, I hope that the West Street Hotel will be your lodging facility of choice.

Warm Regards,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    94
    26
    7
    8
See reviews for
107
280
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Bar Harbor is beautiful and this hotel is in a prime location with great sea views and with all the shops, bars and restaurants nearby. We were in a top floor room and the view from the balcony was stunning. On each floor there's a Keurig machine with a good selection of capsules for tea, coffee and hot chocolate as well as bottled water and fruit and cookies. The hotel is stylish and the room are large and airy with a nautical feel. Large spacious bathrooms too with great shower. We enjoyed the rooftop pool, which has great views.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at West Street Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Dear LimehouseTraveller,

We appreciate the wonderful review, and we are pleased to read about your great experience while at the West Street Hotel. Our guests have access to many great amenities and great views on property- as mentioned in your review. We thank you for your kind words regarding your stay!

If your travels bring you back to the Bar Harbor area, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to property!

With Hospitality,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

You are right inside the edge of the action on Main St. Inside and out this hotel is classy. The infinity pool on the roof of the 4th floor has great views of the harbor and the pool itself, though small, is surrounded by chaises and unusual seating. Our 3rd floor room faced the parking lot but the deck was large and comfortable. Water and coffee were available on our floor (and probably all floors) in a central area. Get there early for the cookies which were all gone when we got back later but we got some earlier. Yummy. If you like B & Bs there are plenty in town but I prefer a hotel and I don't think there are any better.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view room if you don't mind the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

West Street is a fantastic place to stay. Great location in downtown Bar Harbour with excellent views. We booked a two bedroom suite and were blown away by the views from one of our four (yes four!) balconies all of which looked out over the water. Decor is what I would call contemporary Maine with nautical themes. Large king sized beds in both rooms with very comfortable mattresses and pillows. We didn't eat in the restaurant but were very pleased with the number and quality of the options from room service. The roof top pool had amazing views and was a great way to relax and soak in some sun. I highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Our corner suite on the fourth floor was at the top of the hotel with panormic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at West Street Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Dear Matt O,

You stayed in one of my favorite rooms! Our two bedroom suite does in fact provide some of the greatest views in the downtown area. I am thrilled to read about your experience at the West Street Hotel, your review summarizes our property wonderfully. Thank you for taking the time to review your experience and provide an excellent summary of our property!

When in the Bar Harbor area, we hope that the West Street Hotel will be your lodging facility of choice!

With Hospitality,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Beautifully decorated rooms, great harbor views, friendly and helpful staff AND a gorgeous roof top, adult only pool. We did not want our trip to end! Looking forward to trying out their other properties. Did not use facilities at sister property - had no need with the roof top pool almost all to ourselves!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at West Street Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Dear Kristin A,

Your review was a pleasure to read, and I am happy to hear that we were able to end your time here in Maine on such a positive note! We have many great properties within the OPAL collection- all just as beautiful as the West Street Hotel. I am pleased that we were able to provide a true Maine, hospitality experience!

We would love to welcome you back to property, and welcome you to some of our other OPAL properties!

With Hospitality,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We loved our stay at the West Street Hotel. The hotel was recently renovated and the rooms feel fresh and bright. We stayed in a king-sized room with the view of the harbor and it was perfect. There's a sweet little pantry on each floors with an endless supply of bottled water and fruit as well as coffee, tea and cookies in the evening.

The association the hotel has with the Bar Harbor Club is great -- we played tennis and used the club's pool. But the best thing about the hotel has to be the adults-only rooftop infinity pool. Perfect place to unwind after a day of hiking and sight-seeing.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at West Street Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Dear Satenig82,

I was pleased to hear about your perfect mini vacation. It seems like you were able to enjoy both the park and the many amenities on property. You review best describes our roof-top pool “the perfect place to unwind after a day of hiking and sight-seeing,” catching a sunset by the roof-top pool in my eyes- there is nothing better.

We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to property!

With Hospitality,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We had a king suite with a balcony and beautiful view of the harbor. Even though we were on the main street, we didn't have any street noise. The room was a nice size, clean, and updated with a nautical decor. The bathroom was also a nice size with a large shower (no tub). The location was perfect for exploring the town, and of course enjoying a great lobster dinner. The rooftop with the infinity pool was perfect for watching the sunset. Our room was expensive, but sometimes you get what you pay for. Service was good.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to West Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Street Hotel

Address: 50 West Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Street Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your West Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Street Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.