We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall trip to Bar Harbor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Street Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added West Street Hotel to your Saves list
West Street Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 West Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fall trip to Bar Harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Very nice property and facility. New and clean. For a place this nice, I was surprised there wasn't a bellman on duty. The $25 resort fee as an additional cost seems excessive, I couldn't see any value as an overnight stay. We didn't use any of the facilities other than the room and still had to pay. I liked the location and the room layout with balcony on the ocean view side. Wouldn't want to stay on the backside overlooking a parking lot. Shared with management that the fitted sheets were too small and kept popping off the corners.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    92
    26
    7
    7
See reviews for
106
275
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Smithtown, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The room doors are not properly sound proofed, there is a gap on the bottom of the door, which brings a lot of sound in. Also, the thermostat in our room was not working properly. We called the front desk and they sent a maintenance guy from another hotel in who did not have a clue about the system as he was not the employee of the hotel. Obviously, nothing was fixed. The housekeeping left much to be desired. A few hairs in the tub were left there the next day (I leave a tip every day for the housekeeping). Some supplies were not restocked in the room either. Small things, but still matter.

On the other hand, the hotel provided storage for bikes, had a gym, a pool on the roof and access to the club across the street with a hot tub. The service was good. In the lobby you could find water bottles and coffee, and if you are lucky, some fruits (but only if you are VERY lucky). Our room had the view of the harbor which was fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

What a great spot to stay in Bar Harbor! Located right on the wharf it is an easy walk to all parts of Bar Harbor. There is a bit of hustle and bustle when the cruise ships unload but they are only there from 9-4PM. Large rooms with nice decks and great views, plenty of parking....the fifth floor roof top pool is amazing!
Definitely would stay here on every visit to BH.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great location. Excellent service. Staff is all young, good looking people. Rooms well appointed. Wonderful concept of snack and drink stations on all floors. Expensive. A wonderful experience. Probably the most expensive in town. If you want the best, book this property.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APEX
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Luxury for sure and at a luxury price. We wanted to stay in the downtown area to walk to restaurants and this hotel was nicely located. Also very near the sand bar off Bridge Street that is accessible during low tide to a nearby small island - the short hike to the summit there provides excellent views of Bar Harbor. Back at the hotel: interior very nice, beds very comfortable, shower fantastic, love the sink. Free parking, free bottles of water, free fruit in am and cookies in pm - "free" because it is included in the amenities fee. But also nice touches like wine glasses to borrow - we came back from dinner the first night with a leftover half bottle and it was so nice to drink the next evening before dinner from a real stemmed wine glass...it's nice they anticipate these needs. Oh, and there was an amazing smell all around this hotel on the street - it is from the oak wood fire blazing in the lobby - heavenly!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I called the day prior to arrival to ask about the pending government shutdown impacting Acadia. I spent the next several minutes trying to convince the front desk staff that the government was in fact planning to shut down at midnight. The person told me she had seen a memo that the park may shut down around October 15th but she had not heard anything. I asked if maybe the manager might know more and she told me that she was the only one there (at a very large hotel??). I ended up calling the Bar Harbor Inn down the street and the very knowledgeable staff was able to reassure me and give me advice on whether to come to Bar Harbor or reschedule my vacation. Once we arrived we noticed that the doormen out front were less than interested in us. The rooms however were delightful and the view was great. The view, day or night, from the rooftop pool is not to be missed. This is a good location that has not invested in quality training and hiring of the staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The rooms were huge with a great view of the harbor. Everything so close by. Coffee, water and treats on every floor. The staff was wonderful. Parking on site. I was blown away with a guest washer and dryer on the 3rd floor. What a pleasure! If you are visiting Bar Harbor this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Street Hotel

Address: 50 West Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Street Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your West Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Street Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.