We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! The West Street hotel is fantastic.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Street Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added West Street Hotel to your Saves list
West Street Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 West Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Illinois
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Wow! The West Street hotel is fantastic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our family of 5 recently stayed in the two bedroom suite at the West Street hotel. We've stayed in some very nice hotels and this one was right up at the top of the list. First off, location, location, location. It can't be beat. The hotel sits across the street from Frenchman's Bay on the corner of West and Main. Our corner suite had three balconies. On the West street side, we sat on the balcony and watched all the action on the bay, the whale watching boats going in and out, the kayakers, etc. On the Main Street side, we watched the people in the park (and you could still see the bay from this side), including some live performers. We were on the third floor, which was perfect (there are 5 floors in the hotel, 4 with guest rooms on them) because our balconies were covered by those above us, meaning the day it rained, we could still comfortably sit outside and not get wet. The other bonus of the balconies is that you can sit outside and hear the live music going on in the Irish Pub that is in the hotel. That was so great! They open the doors of the pub in nice weather and crowds gather on the street to listen.

So, the room itself was amazing. Brand new, beautifully decorated in a contemporary nautical them. Think Ralph Lauren meets Pottery Barn. Each bedroom was very spacious with a king bed, two full size nightstands and a dresser and each had an en suite bathroom. I am very picky about bed linens and these were fantastic. One of the bathrooms had a claw foot tub in addition to a beautifully tiled glass shower and a rain shower head (plus a hand held shower head). I'm blanking on the name of the toiletry brand but they're high end and smell lovely. In addition to the two bedrooms, there is a foyer and a living area with a pull out couch (at least I think it was a pull out couch, we didn't actually pull it out) and two comfy chairs. There are flat screen tvs in both bedrooms and in the living area. There are also two min fridges and two safes.

A nice perk of the West Street hotel is the pantry. Each floor has one by the elevator bank. It is stocked with water and keurig coffee pods (plus tea and hot chocolate, cream, sugar, skim milk, etc) so you can have coffee any time of the day. They have regular ceramic mugs plus to go cups. It is also stocked with wine glasses should you choose to bring a bottle back to your room (we did this one night so we could have wine on the balcony and listen to the band below--great cheap entertainment...although we did also go down to the pub one night so we could see the band in person and buy their CD). Their is a bowl of fruit that is kept stocked all day. They put cookies out at night. There is also a cupboard with board games which came in handy for our kids one rainy afternoon. Another perk is that if you're touring Acadia by car, the front desk will loan you a CD with an audio driving tour on it.

On the roof of the hotel, you'll find a beautiful adults only pool area. It's an infinity pool and very small (I think the sign said the capacity of the pool itself was 11), but gorgeous. There are a couple of round lounge chairs for couples and several seating areas (they serve food up there). You get a great view of the bay/ocean and all of West street from the roof top. If you have a family, you can use the pool at the hotel across the street. It is a beautiful pool sitting right on the bay and they have food/drink service there as well.

I only have 2 minor complaints about this hotel. This first is the facility fee. It's $25 day. Yes, the pools are beautiful, but at $1000/night for the 2 bedroom suite, this felt like nickel and diming. Also, we had to ask for our toiletries to be replaced and the housekeeping was minimal. We are not a messy family, so I don't expect much from housekeeping (and always, always leave a tip daily), but it felt like they did very little to tidy up the room. Replacing the toiletries (especially for a family of 5) should be automatic. I won't take off a star for it because the hotel was outstanding otherwise, but it did annoy me.

Overall, this is the only hotel I'd ever want to stay at if I were in Bar Harbor again.

Room Tip: The rooms facing West street are definitely more noisy, but the views are so worth it! If you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    92
    26
    7
    7
See reviews for
106
275
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Camden, Maine
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We got a decent last minute rate at the West Street Hotel, and really enjoyed our stay (the hotel, that is - Bar Harbor was much too touristy). Loved the rooftop pool and terrace, the gym, the views, the room (great beds and bathroom), and last but absolutely not least, the 24 hour Keurig coffeemakers in the hallways, plus occasional fruit, snacks, water, and juice. Parking was the only problem - there was little of it, and we were lucky to find a spot. For a more peaceful Mount Desert Island experience, stay in Southwest Harbor!

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The West Street Hotel makes a Trip to Maine well worth while with sincere thoughtfulness towards their customers and their experience. We were received by Kali at the front desk who was friendly and efficient, and made great recommendations on how to spend our day. The rooms are beautiful and represent Maine well. The rooms are kept meticulously clean, the bell boys greet you at the door with a smile and willingness to help, and the cleaning staff must be very quiet and efficient because we never saw them but you knew they had been around. Their location is the best in town and it has ample parking! Bar Harbor must be thrilled to have them there. A true "quaint little town" experience. A very special thanks to Kali for starting our stay off so nicely!!!
<3 West Street Hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a street front room with a view, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed various times through the summer months.. plan to go back again before season ends. Beautiful location, parking, rooms, and atmosphere! Kali L. is a fabulous front desk wealth of info and makes you feel right at home! Wouldn't pcik a different hotel for the Bar Harbor area!

Room Tip: A room with a view of the harbor is excellent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We just got back from this beautiful hotel where our family of 5 stayed in a 2 bedroom suite that was perfect. The location could not have been better for dining, shopping and walking to the sand bar. I was impressed with how clean the hotel was in general and how beautifully it was decorated. Best of all, the front desk provided free detergent to use in the washers and dryers which were also free. Ideal for a family. Only downside was the pool was located at a different property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Overall, this was a great hotel. The room was beautiful and roomy, and the staff was very courteous. It's central to everything, and shops and restaurants were all within walking distance. We used room service for breakfast twice and the service was efficient and the food very tasty. They had a Guest Pantry on our floor that had a Keurig machine with various coffee, tea and hot chocolate items. A basket of fruit was available each day as was bottled water, ice, and in the evenings they had a plate of small desserts. We've never seen this in a hotel before. They didn't always restock the pantry as often as they could have, but it was great nonetheless. They also had a guest laundry on the 3rd floor if you needed it. We had a room with a harbor view and balcony which was nice, but if you like to sleep in this could be a problem. Trucks arrive early each morning to unload supplies to businesses across the street. But we're early rises so it wasn't a big issue. Parking was free and they have a nice lot directly behind the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms without a harbor view will be a little more quiet in the morning. Handicap accessible rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The location of West Street Hotel cannot be beat. Being new, it is in good shape. The staff is very professional and helpful. I loved the pantries on each floor. The room was large and very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Street Hotel

Address: 50 West Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Street Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your West Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Street Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.