We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added West Street Hotel to your Saves list
West Street Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 West Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We took our 4 and 7 year old sons to Acadia for 4 days. The West Street is definitely the property to stay at. While it is more expensive then the others, the price is worth it (if you use the amenities). First, and most important, the rooms are clean. For example, my son dropped his yogurt on the carpet in the room...while I did my best to clean it, yogurt is not something that comes up easily. When we returned, we could tell that housekeeping finished the job. A fine example of attention to detail.
The pantries are perfect. I didn't think they would be a big deal, but it's so easy to stock up on water and ice (bags) before leaving for the day --- or even coming back. Our kids would leave the room to get the fresh fruit. When it rained, we sat down at the fireplace playing board games with our kids. Relaxing.
The kids camp across the street is simple, yet serves the need. We used it twice and our sons were very happy. Yes, they played video games...but they also made smores fireside. The important thing is that my husband and I got to have two meals alone.
We ate at the restaurant twice and the food is good. We live in NYC so the prices were comparable to what we pay here. However, I do want to recommend McKays in Bar Harbor...we had a simply amazing meal...fresh ingredients, decent wine list and fantastic service. The outdoor seating is quite romantic.
We didn't get a room with a view, because quite frankly, we are never in our room. We had a balcony that overlooked the parking lot...but that did not bother us at all.
We used the laundry facility twice and it was perfect.
The kids used the pool at Harborview once, and it is literally across the street. From West Street doors to Harborview pool is about a 1 minute walk (most of that is crossing a not so busy street).
The bike rental is literally 1 block up the street from the hotel...2 minute walk.
The pizza place is literally 1 block up the street from the hotel...2 minute walk.
Rite Aid (?) is literally 1 block up the street from the hotel...2 minute walk.
The hotel is convenient to everything!!!
The bellman, front desk clerks and housekeeping are all very nice people.

We will definitely stay here again...

Room Tip: Stay away from elevators. The pantry is next to the elevator and it can get loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    92
    26
    7
    7
See reviews for
106
275
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
PA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is the first prefect review I have ever written! This hotel is the best! Great location (best as far as we were concerned), beautiful, large rooms, very new and clean! Yes, there is a $25 resort fee, but that includes ALOT! No nickle and dime-ing going on here! Free parking, free laundry (detergent included), free internet, two pools, HUGE hot tub at the Inn for use, tennis, and more! The balcony was large and most of them had wonderful water views! The staff was so nice and helpful. Check in and check out was a breeze. The food at Patty's was great and reasonable priced. Patty's also had a live band every night. I really thought being right on the main street it would be loud at night but it wasn't - not at all and the walls were good and thick between the rooms. The doors are heavy so you can hear them slam if your neighbors aren't careful but that was about it for the noise. The bathroom was new and modern with the best shower! We would come back again in a heart beat even if just to stay here!

Room Tip: Room 316 was great because there were still good views but not right above the restaurant where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just back from two days at West Street Hotel. We highly recommend this fabulous waterfront hotel with a great location.. convenient to downtown Bar Harbor and all waterfront sightseeing activities! Staff was very competent and friendly. Rooms and public areas were all well appointed and very clean. We will definitely go back.. best hotel for price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We highly recommend this hotel...met all our expectations and we will be returning.
The rooms are well done and the snack area on each floor was great.
We had a room overlooking the harbor and it was wonderful to sit on the deck watching the working harbor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great hotel for both families and couples. Great location overlooking the water. The rooms were nicely decorated. Amenities were wonderful. Complimentary Keurig coffee/bottles of water and snacks (fruits during the day; sweets at night) on each floor. Rooftop pool was nice. It was a little empty when we went there, but the poolside service was great. Definitely would stay here the next time I am in Bar Harbor.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The location was perfect - nice to be within walking distance to so many shops and restaurants. Our room was great -very spacious and well-appointed. The bathroom was huge and we loved the shower. The best part of this luxury resort is the roof-top infinity pool - felt like heaven. The pantry items on each floor were a nice touch - especially the water! Only suggestion would be to allow the a/c to be lowered a few more degrees - it was a bit restrictive in the July heat.

Would definitely recommend.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We'll have to come back, because it was raining hard all day the one day we were there. We waited 5 minutes several times! The location is perfect... Right across from the marina and right in front of where the bars and pubs are. Jeff at Paddy's was great- sociable and genuine. Malakin was awesome, too. He was clearly done his shift as we got there late the day of our arrival, but still stayed around to make sure we were comfortable.
The only negative is that we had our "do not disturb" sign up and housekeeping parked their cart right outside our door at 8am. Asked them to move it and explained we drove from Lake Placid the day before and had gotten in after midnight... They moved it a couple feet. There's a lot of noise that comes in through the hallways- so if you're a light sleeper, go to bed early!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to West Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Street Hotel

Address: 50 West Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Street Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your West Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Street Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.