We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our Expatactions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Street Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added West Street Hotel to your Saves list
West Street Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 West Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
New York City, New York
1 review
“Exceeded our Expatactions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed seven days, found the hotel to exceed our expectations, loved the fresh coffee always at the guest pantry. Our room was spacious; the decor, tasteful, chic and pleasant. We had a balcony with a view of the harbor and were able to relax watching the water with the boats arriving and departing. The staff was always pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a Harbor View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    92
    26
    7
    7
See reviews for
106
275
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at The West Street Hotel for five nights and loved every minute. Everything is pristine and new, and you can't beat the location. The staff is very friendly, and Evan was particularly helpful. The rooftop pool is awesome- nothing like sipping a cocktail and watching the sunset. We also thoroughly enjoyed access to tennis and swimming at the Bar Harbor Club. We will be back next year!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We just returned from a 3 day stay at the West Street Hotel and had a fantastic time. The hotel is perfectly located overlooking the harbor and within walking distance of all the downtown shops, restaurants and boat tours/excursions. It is brand new - everything is extremely clean and fresh. We had an ocean view room with a deck containing 2 rocking chairs and small table, which we used for breakfast in the mornings. Each floor has a pantry which is stocked with cold bottled waters and a Keurig coffee maker with all flavors of coffees. There is fresh fruit in the morning and brownies and cookies in the evening. We used the rooftop infinity pool, but enjoyed the Harbor Club pool much, much more. The resort fee includes use of this pool, which is much quieter (no club music playing) and is great for swimming laps as it is at least 25 yards (probably meters) and has lap lanes. There is a wide variety of chairs and numerous umbrellas and shady spots which are lacking at the rooftop pool at the West Street Hotel. In addition, the locker room is fabulous at the club since it is spacious, has showers with top-of-the-line shampoos and body wash, etc. It was nice to sunbathe, swim and then just shower and go about our day without having to return to our hotel room. This pool is also open until 11:00 pm and has a huge, very hot jacuzzi. The hotel room at the West Street hotel is perfect size, with a couch, 2 nice leather chairs and a super comfy king-sized bed. There is so much to do in Bar Harbor that we never even used the flat screen tv. We are already planning a fall trip back to see the foliage and will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: It's worth it to ask for ocean view. Room 434 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Unfortunately, we hit four days of fog and rain, so I can only imagine how beautiful Bar Harbor must be. Thank goodness for the West Street! The inviting common spaces and crackling fireplace gave us relaxing opportunities to forget about the weather. One member of our party even spent some time reading through all of the interesting books found in an inviting nook. The staff were wonderfully accommodating and friendly. We found the location the best in the area and would have loved to have spent an afternoon by the beautiful rooftop pool in one of the designer lounges. What a view! Everything in the hotel has a Ralph Lauren/Pottery Barn look to it and all is spotless with such attention to detail. Loved the size of the room and wished we could have spent some time in the wooden rocking chairs on the deck viewing the entire harbor. The beds were so comfortable, we had our best night sleep ever. We also went over to the Bar Harbor Club across the street which has an amazing pool, kiddie pool, and spa right on the water. Due to the rain, however, we wiled away some time having a wonderful conversation with the Club manager and bartender. Everything and everyone was top shelf. However, as the previous poster mentioned, it does come with a price. I indeed felt the benefits outweighed the cost, but was surprised to find the charge of $25 per person per day for the facilities use. I knew there was a charge prior to booking but did not know it was per person, this seems a bit high especially since we were unable to use the facilities due to the weather. However, if we ever get to return to Bar Harbor, we would stay at the West Street again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Room 434 had beautiful view of ocean and harbor. Be careful when booking as there are a few rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I spent a foggy, but glorious, two nights in the West St. Hotel. Every aspect of the hotels design and execution are done to the highest standards and with great consideration. As I tried to describe it to friends back home, it was an upscale nautical fantasia. Everything had a very distinct nautical theme, but done in a completely un-kitchsy way. I've stayed many places in Maine, many of them really lovely, but this is another level. It has a more urban sophistication, which may or may not be to everyone's taste, and it certainly is priced accordingly!

The lobby staff were nothing but helpful in my limited interactions with them. The public spaces, besides inviting you to linger with chairs and seating nooks, also had interesting decor items that encourage you to linger as you make you way through the halls.

My room, #425, was a harbor view king and it was spacious, immaculate and stocked with every possible amenity. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom spacious and modern. Again, top of the line and beautifully designed.

Some of the perks include the pantry at each elevator landing with coffee machines, fresh fruit, bottled water, evening cookie platters and board games. It's just so nice to be able to grab a banana or apple and a couple bottles of water on your way out the door! The rooftop pool (the only one in Maine, says the Front Desk) with inviting wicker chaises lounges was tempting, in spite of the persistent fog. As this was midway through an extended trip, the complimentary laundry facilities (for which the front desk supplies soap and dryer sheets) was a convenience and a boon! I toured the facilities at the nearby Bar Harbor Club, to which guests have access, but did not use them. However, they too looked top notch, albeit in a more classic design.

All in all, this is not a cheap place to stay, but there are so many perks and comforts associated with the property, it almost makes it painless to hand over the credit card. It is really superlative in many ways and would easily hold its own with resort facilities in larger cities. Splurge-worthy!

Room Tip: The usual higher floor/water view suggestions hold true here. There were a smaller group of rooms t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed for 6 days and loved it. Staff members were friendly, helpful, and responsive. The rooms are gorgeous, modern with nautical theme. Very well designed. Loved the pantry where you could help yourself to coffee, water, etc. Dined at many of Bar Harbor's restaurants, but you can't beat Paddy's for delicious food at great price. Very convenient location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel has it all and is worth the price! When you walk in the front door you are greeted with a warm inviting wood burning fireplace and adorable setting! The rooms were super clean! We had a great view and enjoyed sitting on our deck in the rocking chairs! The beds were comfortable-I only wish the pillows were a little harder-too soft for me find for my spouse. The infinity pool on the roof deck is for adults only and they offer a beverage service! For those who have children, there is an AWESOME pool that sits on the ocean and is less than a 5min walk from the West Street Hotel-incredible views there and tons of things for the kids to do if they don't want to swim! There is also a full bar for adults at that location-not to be missed for kids and adults! Throughout the day there is a stocked refrigerator on each floor with bottled water. They also have fruit, tea, hot chocolate, coffee sitting out for everyone to enjoy. At night they set out delicious cookies and brownies in addition to what I previously mentioned (minus the fruit)-this was very nice touch! Everyone was very accommodating, we needed toothpaste and they gave us one.

Room Tip: The only issue we had with our room was the shower. From my understanding all rooms only have showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Street Hotel

Address: 50 West Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Street Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your West Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Street Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.