We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty in Bar Harbour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Street Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added West Street Hotel to your Saves list
West Street Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 West Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beauty in Bar Harbour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Bar Haroubr Hotel is quite obviously the new hotel on the block - it even smells new as you walk into the Reception/lobby area. Very tastefully nautically decorated hotel with a contempory twist in the perfect location in Bar Harbour. The whole hotel is immaculately presented and clean.

The snack stations on each floor was a nice touch (tea/coffee making facilities and cookies).

We didn't make use of the rooftop pool as it was October, but great views from here.

My husband and I ate in the attached Irish bar on one of the two evenings that we stayed at the hotel. Food was generously portioned and good value for money.

Although the hotel doesn't offer b&b rates we can't recommend Jeannies for breakfast enough. This is clearly echoed by many as the queues for a table each morning were substantial.

Free parking and Wifi a bonus too.

Wouldn't recommend anywhere else to stay if you are thinking of visiting Bar Harbour.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a sear view. Higher floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    104
    27
    7
    9
See reviews for
120
307
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sherborn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is one amazing property. They have thought of everything to make your stay with them a wonderful experience. From the very friendly people at the front desk to the housekeeping staff. Everyone went above and beyond with making you feel welcome and comfortable. Beautiful lobby with cozy sitting area and fireplace sure felt good on a cold evening.
Location doesn't get any better than this. Everything is within walking distance shops, restaurants, boat tours even the beautiful sunrise can be seen. Just grab yourself a cup of coffee from the pantry area in the morning walk about 3 minutes to the landing sit back at enjoy the sunrise.
Paddy's had the BEST seafood chowder I have ever had. And being a New Englander I have had my share of seafood chowder.

Room Tip: Front of hotel overlooks water and shops. Back of hotel overlooks parking lot but rooms are so beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

It's about time! Wow, did downtown Bar Harbor need a property like this. This hotel is fresh, trendy, upscale, light and breezy with a nautical theme that isn't lame rather Pottery Barn goes to the beach. I could spend a week here and be quite happy. The Pro's: Excellent parking in downtown Bar Harbor, within walking distance to everything, superb decor and room layout, most excellent rooftop infinity pool/bar/hiding spot. Great on site restaurant-loved it! Hallway pantry on each floor is a level of luxury not found in most Maine hotels
Con's Lighting in the bath was somewhat dim and the sink configuration made hair and makeup hard to do. Recommending a lighted cosmetic mirror. Sliding door to bath needed some lube as the rail made a heinous noise when closing the bath door. But, really the cons are so so minor when it comes to this property. My prediction? Book now for next year, this hotel will sell out every Summer and Fall weekend!

Room Tip: High floor water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

There is a lot to love at the West Street Hotel. We visited for two weekend nights in mid- September. Built in 2012, it still very much has the feel of a new hotel. Everything is clean and new. I booked a harbor view room. My husband and myself found ourselves in a upgraded corner harbor view room which was very large. Everything was nice-sitting area, bureaus, nautical theme, 2 balconies with nice views, large bathroom with heated floors, modern sinks, huge glass shower, claw footed tub, nice bedding, towels and robes, heavy drapes that actually block out light, and more. We also had wonderful free breakfasts at Paddy's each morning. Coffee and bottled water station in hall available anytime, cookies in the evening. We had no problem parking in back and it's a close walk to everything Bar Harbor. There is also a beautiful infinity roof top pool with loungers, a must see.
I do believe this place would have a very different feel in the summer, just like Bar Harbor itself. Much louder, much busier, there were no children around and school had started. So really depends on what your looking for. Loved our stay, will be back again and will stick to off season. Last put not least, minutes to an entrance to Acadia Park.

Room Tip: Harbor view rooms worth extra money, otherwise facing parking lot. Corner rooms very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Absolutely incredible, beautiful, outstanding hotel. There is not one thing that was missed to make our stay fantastic. The Hotel is new, the decorator should receive an award for the work that they did on this property. The Hotel is a Green Property with energy efficiency exuding everywhere while keeping the comfort of the guest a high priority. I wish we had a property like this in South Florida.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We were impressed from the moment we walked in. This newly built hotel is a must if you are planning a trip to Bar Harbor. Beautiful rooms which are quite contemporary and very comfortable. Gorgeous view, prime location. Walk to everything from dining to shopping to points of interest. Minutes from Acadia park... So much to see and do! Lots of delicious dining options. Take a sunset sail, whale watch and explore nature in the bay. Access to The Bar Harbor Club's facilities is a plus.. Beautiful pool and fitness center, great spa! Highly recommend stating at West Street... We look forward to returning :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I wish we could rate 4 1/2 stars. Our only objections were: a personal preference for in room coffee service rather than a coffee bar on each floor and bathroom lighting was inadequate.
Location, wonderful, bath and shower A+, staff A+, bedding A+, views A.

Room Tip: Choose a room closer to the corner for better harbor views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#9 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 922 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#14 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bar Harbor
Hampton Inn Bar Harbor
#2 of 42 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#15 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Street Hotel

Address: 50 West Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Street Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your West Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Street Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.