We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Street Hotel

Save Saved
You added West Street Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
West Street Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 West Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 40 hotels in Bar Harbor
Sagamore Hills, Ohio, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We found this hotel on the internet and was so glad that we did! The room was excellent and the location was perfect. The staff went out of their way to help with anything we needed! We would definiately stay here again and recommend it highly!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the water are fantastic and worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    304
    75
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
98
238
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband booked this hotel for us on a surprise trip for me and I was thrilled with it.

There's a fireplace in the lobby that smells so great when you return from a day of exploring Bar Harbor and Acadia. The hallways smell amazing because there's a lovely little beverage station in the hall for making coffee, tea, and hot chocolate. They provide full-size glass wine glasses and ceramic coffee mugs for the guests in that spot, along with board games (first come, first served). They serve chocolate chip cookies from 7-9pm which pleased my husband (I'm vegan so I didn't have any -- suggestion for the hotel: make them vegan! They'll be healthier and just as delicious, I promise!)

The room was lovely with modern furniture and a modern bathroom (with a super cool sliding wooden barn door that my husband is now obsessed with recreating in our house). The view from the balcony was of the harbor - so beautiful! The beds were really comfortable.

The location was also great. You can walk across the street to book a tour, you are right near lots of shops and restaurants, and in a second you can drive out of town and be in Acadia within minutes.

The rooftop pool was nice and very modern (and the view was awesome!) - but we were there at the end of the season in October and we were the only people up there. If it were peak season, I can imagine that the pool would not be that fun because it's not that big and who wants to be in a small shallow (4 ft) pool with lots of strangers? The pool also closes at sundown. I think they should have put a hot tub (or two!) up there and leave the pool area open until 11pm.

My only "complaint" about the property is that the elevators are slow... but that's just me being nitpicky. As I titled this review, I LOVED this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a view of the bay - it's gorgeous and otherwise you'll be looking at the parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The decor in this hotel is fabulous. We got an excellent rate for the last night of the season the property was open. Two negatives: the beds are too hard, and the rooms overlooking the parking lot do not have a nice view. The entire back of the hotel overlooks the parking lot.

Looking at the parking lot aside, the rooms are terrific. The toiletries are first class. The bathrooms are very roomy with good showers.

The check-in staff was not particularly friendly, nor did she make any recommendations for us. The housekeeping staff was very nice.

Regardless, if we got a good rate we would stay here again. It really is lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Fantastic experience. Spent 3 nights during a post Labor Day holiday to New England. The location is absolutely fabulous. Directly in downtown Bar Harbor with incredible views from the balcony as well as the adults-only rooftop pool which was happily still open in September. Walk to waterfront tourist activities, restaurants and shops. Guests can also use the beautiful pool and fitness facilities across the street at Harborside which overlook the 'bar'. Pantry on each floor provided coffee, water, fruit and board games - very nice convenience. Furnishings are refreshingly modern in a nautical Tommy Hilfiger sort of way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubbard, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Beautiful upscale decor, so clean you would think you were the first person to ever use the room, luxurious bedding, quiet, there is nothing we didn't love about this hotel. Huge walk in tiled shower with a glass wall and rain shower head as well as a hand held shower head. Infinity pool on the roof, downtown location, just perfect in every way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This Hotel was in easy walking of all the shops, tours and restaurants. Love the modern look with a nautical colors and feel. I love their sliding door to the bathroom.
Would diffintly stay again if in the area.
There are several good places to eat within a block. There is Italian, Seafood, and even pizza.
They have a very nice grocery store in the next block (need to drive to it), if you want to pick up snacks,drinks, food to eat in or on the run.

Room Tip: ocean view is the best. If you don;t care then a room on the backside over looks a parking lot/ alle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We spent 3 days at this new hotel in mid October. It just opened in late June so of course it was sparkling. We loved the contemporary nautical decor and found the linens to be luxurious.The lobby is welcoming with several cozy seating areas, a crackling fireplace and a library of lovely books of photographs of Maine. The bathrooms (we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite) were some of the best we have seen in a hotel and certatinly the best we saw in Maine. I happily recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Street Hotel

Address: 50 West Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Street Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your West Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Street Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.