We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel, but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Street Hotel

Save Saved
You added West Street Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
West Street Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 West Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 40 hotels in Bar Harbor
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“very nice hotel, but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is nice hotel and we got a lower price because it had only been opened for 6 weeks or so. It's nicely furnished with tommy bahama items and a nautical theme. We enjoyed the room alot, but I the management needs to do something about the noise from the hall and other doors closing. The doors close very loudly and can be heard within any rooms within 6 doors away I'd say. Also, you can hear people in the halls, especially a problem with the rooms near the elevators. The house keeping pantry was across the hall from our room and that door was opening and closing non stop. I'd go back, but not would rather be at the end of the hall with less traffic. We stayed in room 426 overlooking frenchman bay with a great view that we enjoyed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    275
    65
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
82
216
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We researched this hotel on Trip Advisor & booked by phone. Only negative: "pet friendly" on website didn't indicate what front desk said it meant - pets les than 25 lbs. My erstwhile wife held firm based on website, and they relented after some debate. I think this is a big issue for travelers with their dogs: we need to know the rules, all the rules at a place before we book. We respect the right of a place to refuse dogs or restrict admission by size or whatever. Just tell us the rules on the Trip Advisor site and on the main website. Our beloved (and well behaved & clean) golden retriever, Gracie, was welcomed in, provided a bowl, placemat & biscuits. Moving along now, everything at West St was lovely and the service was very good throughout our overnight stay. Location: perfect for us, easy entrance, great parking behind, our room, a premium king facing the beautiful bay of Bar Harbour, the street below with people walking and shopping, close to all the things you came here for, but this town gets pretty quiet after 9 pm. Room: elegant, very modern, tasteful, large, nice firm bed, oddly small pillows, big coset, nice bathroom, latest shower style, sink, tap, nice toiletries. Balcony was very much enjoyed after a few hours of walking around - composite white rockers & table. Free water, coffee, apples, cookies etc at the nook in the hall. All staff were friendly, always greeted us warmly. We didn't eat at the pub or restaurant, but both looked pleasant and menus had appealing items. Overall: first class, worth the $243 after CAA discount, before tax, they charged $10 extra for our dog but waived the $25 resort fee. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend for couples and families.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, MA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

I write this review as I relax in my suite after an amazing day. This hotel just opened in July and is spotless, has wonderful amenities and Marriott type bedding (duvets, high end linens and nice pillows). The view from the roof top pool deck at sunset is amazing! The downstairs lobby with wood burning fireplace is very inviting. The complimentary water/coffee/tea/water/fruit/cookies is a nice treat. The hotel is within walking distance of everything you need. We were very on the fence about staying in Bar Harbor because for the average room prices, we were not impressed with the overall quality. Being Labor Day weekend, $259.00 was very reasonable for what we have. After our stay here we are headed to their sister property, the Samoset Resort and will pay approx. $40 more per night. I would highly recommend this property and hope to return again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis Tn
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed at The West Street Hotel for 2 nights in August. When I booked the room, there was not much information available so I was hoping for the best, but expected some growing pains.

I was pleasantly surprised as the hotel was beautiful and the service was delightful! The rooftop pool was a perfect spot to enjoy the sunset over the harbor with drink service!

We booked a harbor view room which had a beautiful view! The harbor view rooms are on the left side of the building(looking at the harbor)and the ocean view rooms are on the right side of the building. I don't think the view would be much different from harbor view to ocean view. Our balcony was small, only big enough for 2 chairs and a table, but big enough! The room could also use a make up mirror. A really nice detail of the rooms is that the bathroom floor is heated! We also loved the stocked pantry on each floor. This probably isn't an issue for most but the air in the rooms will only go down to 69 degrees. So if you are there in the warmer months, you may want to bring a fan!

We loved being within walking distance of everything downtown and the views vere awesome! If we return to Bar Harbor, we would definitely stay at The West Street Hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, ME
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had a good stay, but I don't think i would stay here again. We found this hotel to be close to the hustle and bustle of Bar Harbor. There was no quiet space near the hotel...it is like a downtown city hotel, which isn't why you come to Bar Harbor. I guess I knew this when i booked, but I expected not so much cement around me...all i say was roads, sidewalks and buidings and I was in the area for the mountains trees etc.. The accomodations were nice, obviously brand new, amenities were nice, staff was pleasent but not very knowledgable on the area and things to do or directions, not one I came in contact with was from Bar Harbor or Maine for that matter. If you are used to staying in higher end hotels in the city, this is the right choice. If you want something a little more 'new england' this isn't the right hotel for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We recently stayed 4 nights and wish it could have been more. Yes, the West street lot was full when we arrived (late at night) but it wasn't a big deal to park the car across the street because we didn't use it for several days - everything is in close walking distance! When we took the car out (to hike Acadia) on the 3rd day, there was a place in the West street lot upon our return.
My kids (11, 7 & 6) didn't mind the short walk to the pool across the street - which is beautiful and has fantastic views. They also loved the cookies each night with hot chocolate! We made good use of the board games provided in the pantry area for family game night after dinner. Staff were very friendly and helpful and our requests were met promptly.
Stewman's Lobster Pound is just across the street for great lobster, Paddy's restaurant in the hotel for when you want something else. We also LOVED the Bar Harbor Whale Watch Co. - office also right across the street. My kids also loved exploring at low tide and going out to Bar Island - also a very short walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: We had the adjoining room, which was great to be able to put the kids to bed a little earlier and st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were guests at The West Street Hotel over the weekend. This hotel didn't miss a beat with anything. First Class hotel with fabulous decor. The infinity pool on the 5th floor rooftop is beautiful. Cabanas and very comfortable furniture all around the pool. The best part is the view of Frenchman's Bay with it's fabulous ocean view! This hotel has an Irish Pub and Restaurant serving very good food!

We are planning to revisit this hotel next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Street Hotel

Address: 50 West Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Street Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your West Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Street Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.