We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make this trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Island Trails

Bar Island Trails
, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 60 things to do in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newton Falls
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Make this trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was a relatively easy hike up to a spot on Bar Island with a beautiful view of Bar Harbor. I was very upset that I hadn't brought my camera. I was able to do this hike in flip flops but I wouldn't recommend it! The trails can be kind of confusing because of some make-shift markings for shortcuts. The shortcuts did seem to make the trip easier though.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    24
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A nice surprise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My wife and I love this island and the trails. There were a lot of people but after entering the island we were soon alone to walk by ourselves and take in the great views.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“snowshoe on carriage trails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If there's snow (ha ha) it's great (there's not always snow on Mt. Desert)....but I had a 6.5 miles solo trek and only met two other people.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice easy walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

if you like to walk this is a nice walk, in the fall it is great to see all the color. you can also see the wildlife in the area and if you like bird watch that is also good

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great short hike to Bar Harbor Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Recommend walking across the sand bar to Bar Harbor Island at low tide. Beware though the tide comes in fast so you have a 2 hour window. It's interesting to see the changes as the tide comes in. The island itself has a short trail through the trees to a summit view point overlooking Bar Harbor.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Island Trails also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Bar Island Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Island Trails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.