We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center to your Saves list
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

I joined friends for a special gathering and this location was excellent. Our group had all ages, from little ones to young grandparents.

The rooms were clean, the staff was extremely helpful, the breakfast buffet was well worth the price, and the indoor pool was the best! I LOVED that the hotel uses fitted contour sheets on the beds!

My only disappointment that on two days of our nearly week long stay, there was a smoke smell in our non-smoking room, that we attributed to the housekeeping staff. But with the door to the balcony open and the ceiling fan on low, it cleared without difficulty.

I would heartily recommend this location to anyone without any hesitation.
Ann
San Diego

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    247
    75
    37
    23
See reviews for
221
278
11
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

I had intended on spending a 3 night weekend in July 2009. I have been to Bar Harbor previously, stayed at their sister hotel "The Bar Harbor Inn". I booked the "Oceanside Spa Package" billed as an all inclusive couples package. It was to include the room for 3 nights, breakfast each day, 2 dinners, 2 spa treatments, a massage and choice of spa pedicure or manicure. Thank God ,I called and asked about the spa package before making the 10 hr drvie up from NYC. Apparently in this all inclusive spa package, only one person out of the couple get a massage! I can just imagine my husband and I fighting over which one of us, do we toss a coin? I spoke to several staff who even agreed the add is deceptive, after 2 days of wrangling over this issue, I decided to call the manager back and cancel and I got the "owner" who answered the phone . I truly didn't even want to go into it again at that point, she was certainly in need of lessons on how to handle an irate caller, because after being told for 2 days by staff they were sorry but the "Inner Keepers" said the website was clear and they weren't going to change it for me, I told her exactly what I thought! She talked down to me, then backed down and tried to offer me what I felt the web site package implied I'd be entitled to, however with that kind of struggle I canceled the reservation and insisted on a full refund. She even had the audacity to spell the word owner when I asked her name and she spelled out her first and last name and added scarcasticly owner and spelled that out too! Not a place I'd want to stay at with that kind of attitude toward a potential customer. One thing, they changed the wording of their website so some other poor sucker won't fall into the trap. As for me, I'm heading south to VA, a more friendly atmosphere, and Bar Harbor will remain just a good memory.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

We reserved and confirmed a King room for a business trip, and didnt' get it, even through the hotel is far from full this time of year. The staff was not interested in this oversight of theirs. Friends of ours who also came along on this trip got some kind of basement room. As mentioned by other reviewers, the continental breakfast is dismal. Wireless is only available in some rooms. Just a note unrelated to this particular hotel --- most cell phones have very poor to no reception in this area.

No doubt, Bar Harbor is expensive in general, but there are much nicer places on the Island to stay, with better access to a decent breakfast. The Bar Harbor Inn, for example, isn't much more expensive and is 100% better --- better rooms, better breakfast, better location.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

This room had everything we needed. It had a balcony looking out into the harbor and that is the best part of this room and location. You could see small boats, islands and the ferries going to Nova Scotia. We had 5 people in this room (including 2 teens) so we had a cot and there was plenty of room. There was a mini refrigerator in room which helped with drinks and snacks. The bathroom was good sized and sink was separate from shower so more than one can get ready at a time. Also a closet for luggage. There was a breakfast buffet that was not fancy, but had good food was convenient with indoor or outdoor seating. There was a small bar with outdoor seating for a cocktail! Grounds of property are really nice. A shuttle stops at this hotel and we waited a while for it but it dropped us off on the main street in town. It is about half way between town and Acadia park entrance and we did both so worked out well. The staff was helpful with whatever we asked. Hallways, carpeting etc. could use updating. Not a high end hotel but definately a good deal for the price we paid because of view, amenities and location.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

On a driving tour of New England, my wife and I spent two nights here in early September. The room was spacious, and very clean, the view from the window and balcony was fabulous.

There is no Restaurant, but the choice in town is great.

This is a fabulous destination, and we truly look forward to coming back

  • Liked — The quiet environment
  • Disliked — Nothing I can report on
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

Old, worn out, moldy, needs complete rebuild.
Breakfast buffet was horrible.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Overal Condition
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

Based on the website photos I had high hopes for the Atlantic Oaks. We were very disappointed once we arrived. I was expecting a high end resort and checked in to an old, dated, mish mash of buildings. It looked like they had bought all of the surrounding motel properties and left them in their original condition. I'm not sure where some of the photos on their website were taken. The breakfast "buffet" looked like cafeteria food and I'm grateful we passed on it. I would not recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#13 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.