We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking view from room and balcony” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center to your Saves list
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view from room and balcony”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We stayed in the main building where the office/front desk was located. We had 2 queen beds, a small (but new) bathroom, and an amazing view from our balcony (the view is likely the best on the property if you stay in this older building). The room was very clean, spacious, and looked to be recently renovated (new carpets, etc.). We enjoyed the beach, looking for small marine life. The outdoor pool is lovely, but there were no towels left and the staff was slow to replenish them. The indoor pool was a bit dated/dark and even the hot tub was salt-water, which I didn't like.
The staff was very friendly. Breakfast was adequate.
We had a great time. Free local Shuttle to and from town takes awhile to get into town (stops at many area resorts), and I would recommend driving in, instead.
Very convenient location to Acadia and to Bar Harbor village.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear h b,

Thank you for staying at the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and for your review. I truly appreciate all the feedback that I receive as this helps me in making decisions on improvements in both service and facilities.

All my best,

Tony Beckerley,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    305
    85
    40
    24
See reviews for
288
336
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morin Heights, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We were happy with our stay. We had a nice patio on the ground level overlooking the ocean. I liked that fact that it was not fenced in. The room was clean and bright. Breakfast was good, and had a nice setting with outdoor space. The location was fantastic. The shuttle service to Bar Harbor was great since parking downtown was a bit of a problem. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor with oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Greetings Georgina R,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.

I am so glad that you enjoyed your room and the convenience of being “just outside of town” and our seasonal shuttle service.

I hope that you will return again soon.

Regards,

Tony Beckerley

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Do not go by the description of this hotel online or the high ratings given by others who all seemed to have stayed at the new buildings. When you book you do not know where your room is going to be. We booked through expedia. Just checked in to the old building where the office is located as we were told that no rooms in the new buildings are avilable. The room is open to the entrance of the motel. Feels like an old 2 star motel room. Do not be fooled by this place, go somewhere else and have an enjoyable vacation. Avoid this place. We are trying to find another place not something you want to do after getting here.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear Reshma S,

I apologize for the misunderstanding with regards to your reservation and I am very sorry that my staff could not resolve the issue to your satisfaction.

If I can ever be of service to you please feel free to call me directly and I will be more than happy to do my best to accommodate your needs.

All my best,

Tony Beckerley

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We loved the Atlantic Oceanside! Our first impression was the grounds, which were immaculate and beautifully landscaped. The main lobby area is clean and appears to be newly renovated! Staff is friendly and helpful. Our room was immaculate and newly updated as well. The view from our balcony was beautiful. Housekeeping did a wonderful job and were very friendly. We felt bad because we had a difficult time not soaking our bathroom floor when using the handicap accessible shower! The only thing that was frustrating was the poor Wifi connection in my room. But HEY I didn't go to Bar Harbor to sit on my phone and Pin on Pinterest!! Thanks Atlantic Oceanside we hope to see you soon and next time we will be bringing some friends and family!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear Ittybittyboarder,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

I apologize for the frustration with the WiFi, and wanted you to know that I will be following up with our provider to ensure that future guests do not have these issues.

I am glad that you enjoyed you enjoyed our hotel and our spectacular views. I sincerely hope that you will return again soon.

All my best,

Tony Beckerley

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We've been going to a Bar Harbor for a few years now and we stay here every year. We love the newer building. You can't beat the view. Other than the old ferry station, every room has a beautiful view on the water. This visit we noticed the beds were uncomfortable. Perhaps the new building could use some sprucing up. It is about a Mike from down town but the bus stops on the property. The Island Explorer is the best way to get around the island.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Lisa N,

Thank you for staying with us at the Atlantic Oceanside hotel and for the review on TA. I just moved up here this season and lived in the Atlantic View building for over a month and must say that I really enjoyed the views also.

Each year we reinvest in our property and right now I am in the middle of planning those projects so I will definitely look into the beds in that building.

I hope that you will return next season and please ask for me as I would like to say Hi.

All my best,

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay for a long weekend family vacation. Our room had amazing ocean views enjoyed from our balcony. The room was large enough and included a small sitting room, decent sized fridge and microwave. Kids enjoyed the pools esp. the outdoor pool which had complimentary drinks. The continental breakfast was extensive with lots of choices. We did see some areas that could use a little TLC -bathroom window didn't open, most of the doors had a window/screen but our didn't open. The indoor pool area and carpet leading to it and the breakfast area are worn/dirty. The maintenance staff was very helpful in assisting with a minor car repair and the staff overall was helpful and friendly. We would likely return to this hotel for a future visit.

Room Tip: there are several buildings on the complex and there is some walking involved to reach the main buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Greetings Twin pines,

I appreciate you taking the time to write this nice review and I do hope that you will return again. Because this property is very special to the Witham family, each Winter we do extensive maintenance projects and renovations. So again thank you for your suggestions.

All my best,

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed here for only one night and wish we could've stayed longer! First off, Brittany at the front desk was amazingly professional, friendly and very helpful with finding us a beautiful room.
We stayed in a newly renovated room on the 4th floor and it was clean, modern and had a nice oceanfront balcony to comfortably sit two or three people.
Both indoor and outdoor pools are saltwater which was a huge plus for me! They have coolers with complimentary sodas and waters by the pool which was also a pleasant surprise on a hot day!
Overall very clean property with great staff all around.
Will be recommending this property to friends and family!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony B, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Baileylv,

Thank you very much for this terrific review of our hotel! I have only been here at the GM for a few months and I really appreciate you taking the time to note all the nice things that the Atlantic Oceanside has to offer. I hope you will come back and visit us again in the future.

Best regards,

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#11 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,264 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#9 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 955 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Bar Harbor
Hampton Inn Bar Harbor
#2 of 42 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
#8 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#23 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 445 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#16 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.