We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love the room, love the view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center to your Saves list
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Wine & Dine Package
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“love the room, love the view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed at the Atlantic building and the room was great. Everything looks new and clean. All rooms have a balcony that faces the water. We witnessed a wedding ceremony right outside the balcony and it was really beautiful. If you are planning to do the nature cruise, the boat is docked right on the hotel.

Breakfast is included and it was ok. Typical continental breakfast. But the outside sitting area is great and have a view of the water as well. If you go during the off season, you can tried your luck and just walk in with the coupon book (can be picked up at any rest stop) and that would give you a much lower rate.

The location is really nice. It is not in the center of bar harbor, but it is a close drive. It is also about a mile to Cadillac Mountain, which made it easier for those who wants to get up early to watch the sunrise!

Room Tip: Choose the atlantic building or the ocean building. They are right by the water. The main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    243
    73
    36
    22
See reviews for
217
269
9
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guymon, Oklahoma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed in The Willows building of the resort, an early 20th century guest house and loved it. Period styling, furnishings, wallpaper. Modern private plumbing. No elevator in that building. Right on the shore with a fantastic view of the ocean. Complementary and much better than usual breakfast in variety and taste served in the main building.

Room Tip: Any room that overlooks the ocean if that is why you are there.
See more room tips
Green Features: We did not look into this so therefor have no comment.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Spectacular view from our pet friendly room. Clean, spacious room with all the amenities we needed to make our stay comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel to vacationers traveling with dogs. Bar Harbor in general, is quite dog friendly, and a great destination to travel to.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed in the newer building (which was very nice), and our patio allowed us to walk right out to the pebble beach where there were nice adirondack chairs to relax in and look out on the water. So peaceful! The hotel is about a mile away from the congestion of downtown Bar Harbor which I liked for the quiet, but a little far if you wanted to walk - downtown parking is a bit tricky, and I can imagine that mid-summer is even more challenging. The indoor pool and hot tub was a plus since the temps in late May were a little chilly for this Floridian! They came in very handy and refreshing after our sea kayaking adventure! The price was right, and with breakfast included - it was a plus. Also, the hotel staff was very helpful as they recommended Poor Boys restaurant for our first night - and with lobster as a daily goal for meals, they fit the bill perfectly in every way. Oh, and don't forget Poor Boy's special blueberry daiquiri (w/o alcohol for me) was AWESOME! Loved Bar Harbor! A great trip to Acadia, shops, food & adventure. Fun, fun, fun!

Room Tip: Loved the patio, but would have preferred a room on the top floor so as to not hear the neighbors ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campton, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The hotel is located just 1.3 miles from the Hulls Cove Visitor Center to Acadia National Park and just 1 mile from downtown. The room was clean and the view from our balcony was spectacular. The complimentary breakfast was very good, hot food items, fresh fruit and an assortment of pastry. The rooms also have a microwave and mid size fridge.

Room Tip: 3rd floor of the main building offers spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunks, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Spectacular view. Comfortable and spacious room...fully equipped. We watched the sunrise each morning over the water. Many birds to hear and watch right from our balcony. The staff was incredibly helpful. We were 2 couples with separate reservations. When we arrived, we asked for rooms together and with NO problem at all, our request was granted. THANK YOU very much. We also requested an extended checkout time and with NO problem, it was granted. The 'cleaning lady' was wonderful. WE enjoyed our stay very much and we will return. Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

At the last minute we booked a family weekend at Bar Harbor, ME with our 2 girls, and chose Atlantic Oceanside Hotel initially because of their indoor AND outdoor pools (the weatherman was calling for a chance of rain).

It was our first family trip to Bar Harbor (having last been there in Sept 2011 on our honeymoon) and we couldn't have been happier with the accommodations.

We've stayed in some nice hotels along the New England coastline over the years, and this was one of my favourites when you consider cost + quality. I've paid well over double the rates for less of a room.

It's a large property but easy to navigate, and my only 2 suggestions would be very small:

1. With a large vehicle sometimes your parking spot would be tricky as our building required a sharp left over a little hill to park. With our smaller SUV it was no problem however.

2. A vending machine closer to our room (6202, in one of the buildings on the water) so we didn't have to walk back to the main building.


The Front Desk staff were very welcoming, and we were liked hearing tales from one of the older gentlemen, Wade, in the breakfast room each morning. It does so much to brighten the start of your day to speak with someone like Wade who knows the area and is happy to share his stories.

We can't wait for our next trip to Bar Harbor, maybe this summer!

Room Tip: There is a main entrance that you would drive into first, but it's quicker to use the second ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#16 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.