We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful ocean front views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center to your Saves list
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
1 review
“Beautiful ocean front views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I loved staying at the Atlantic Oceanside! It was our home away from home. I stayed in the king room with a kitchenette and it had everything I needed right in one place. The staff were friendly, service was great, continental breakfast was delicious, the hotel was clean, pool hot tub and exercise room were wonderful and the list goes on and on. I will definitely stay there again on my next trip to bar harbor! And did I mention the beautiful view of the ocean?! Every morning I got up and watched the sunrise on the balcony while I drank my coffee and it was breath taking!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    247
    75
    37
    23
See reviews for
221
278
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Buxton, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We recently participated in a Trade Show at the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel. The event was a huge success, the staff did an outstanding job catering to our needs, the function rooms were spacious and immaculate, and there was plenty of on-site parking for the attendees. This is a tremendous facility, and we would recommend it to anyone hosting an event in the Bar Harbor area. The beautiful views from the quiet and comfortable hotel rooms were an added bonus to the entire experience!

Room Tip: They all have great views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at Atlantic Oceanside for a few nights recently and were very impressed with the accomodations. We were looking for a place that would allow us to bring our dog. The room was comfortable and clean and the staff was extremely helpful. The views from the room were beautiful. There is an extra charge to bring your dog but it was well worth it. There is a grassy area in front of the room for your dog to hang out. The trails to Acadia National park are across the street so it was very convenient, no need to get in the car.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the new part of the hotel. The rooms are extra specious, clean with great view. The hotel is situated outside Bar Harbor, which for us was an advantage.
Our recommendations regarding the stay- there is room for improvement in customer relations and service.
The breakfast needs improvement as well- why not eggs and bacon or cheese and vegetables.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed at the Atlantic Oceanside in late April. The hotel was pretty quiet and I stayed in the newer wing that is to the left of the main building. This appeared relatively newly built and was in very good repair. We had a room on the ground floor with doors that opened on to a patio that then led across a small grassy area down to the water. The view was great but would have been better from a higher floor.
The room was very well equipped and comfortable. The hotel provided a complimentary breakfast that was continental in style. I imagine the room would be very crowded in high season. The food quality was OK and there was quite a wide selection of breads, cakes, cereals, fruit and yogurt etc.
The staff were efficient if a little lacking in warmth. The hotel is well sited for hiking into the national park / Cadillac mountain. It is over a mile to the centre of Bar Harbor where there are plenty of shops and restaurants (not all open in April) and really needs a drive or taxi ($5 each way) if out for an evening meal.
Also note, if visiting to go up Cadillac (as we were) the roads were not opening until mid May so we had to walk up. This was however great fun as it was a beautiful day but does need about 4 hours for a return trip (and plenty of energy!).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here our only night in Bar Harbor, and we were very pleased. The room, though small, was plenty comfortable and had a great view. The balcony was a nice touch, and we enjoyed it greatly. The breakfast was a little meager, but in all, we would definitely come back here to stay next time we're in town.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Great rooms for our family of 5! Love the layout that allows adults some privacy. The rooms are convenient with fridges and microwaves. Love the large balcony looking over ocean.

The indoor pool needs a lot of attention. It was cloudy and the water dripping from the ceiling made it feel more like a wet cave than a pool area.

We would go again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AOH, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel & Event Center and taking the time to write your review. I really appreciate your comments regarding your room and especially our view. I am happy to hear you made it home safely. I have passed your review on to all of our staff about the pool and it was mentioned at our recent manager meeting. We look forward to having you back as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#13 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.The AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Wed. ~ Sat. 5Pm ~ 9pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.