We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a great view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Save Saved
You added Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 40 hotels in Bar Harbor
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with a great view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here our only night in Bar Harbor, and we were very pleased. The room, though small, was plenty comfortable and had a great view. The balcony was a nice touch, and we enjoyed it greatly. The breakfast was a little meager, but in all, we would definitely come back here to stay next time we're in town.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    236
    189
    49
    33
    17
See reviews for
169
214
9
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Great rooms for our family of 5! Love the layout that allows adults some privacy. The rooms are convenient with fridges and microwaves. Love the large balcony looking over ocean.

The indoor pool needs a lot of attention. It was cloudy and the water dripping from the ceiling made it feel more like a wet cave than a pool area.

We would go again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AOH, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel & Event Center and taking the time to write your review. I really appreciate your comments regarding your room and especially our view. I am happy to hear you made it home safely. I have passed your review on to all of our staff about the pool and it was mentioned at our recent manager meeting. We look forward to having you back as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here in April and it was very off season. The hotel was almost empty, but the front desk and staff were wonderful. Great check in and they all seemed happy to be there.

The location is about a mile out of downtown right on the water. Our ocean view was outstanding. The kids loved the indoor pool (the outdoor pool was still closed but looked great too). We brought our dog and they had a special welcome treat bag for him.

We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AOH, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel & Event Center and taking the time to write your review. I really appreciate your comments regarding your room and especially our staff. I am happy to hear you made it home safely. I have passed your review on to all of our staff and it was mentioned at our recent manager meeting. We look forward to having you back as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We booked a suite during the shoulder-season and found the hotel to be almost vacant of guests! Our room was really nice - in fact, the staff upgraded us to a larger suite without us even asking! The room had very nice furnishings and everything was clean and up-to-date. There was a private balcony overlooking the water. The indoor pool was a little cool and the hottub was small, grimy, and barely warmer than a bathtub. The included breakfast was really great! Coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and juice. Plenty of assorted fresh fruits, gourmet breads, standard cold cereals, hard boiled eggs, and some pastries. Overall we really enjoyed this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AOH, General Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel & Event Center and taking the time to write your review. I really appreciate your comments regarding your room and especially our complimentary breakfast. I am happy to hear you made it home safely. I have passed your review on to our maintenance staff and it was mentioned at our recent manager meeting. We look forward to having you back as our guest, and appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This site has a waterfront campus about which to stroll, great facilities, nice, helpful staff. Now (2013) it has access to a brand new trail across the street (by the Acadia Inn) which gets you to Acadia National Park in 7 minutes on foot, 14 minutes to Duck Pond Rd./Carriage Roads. Walking your bike on the trail allowed if you're biking, not hiking. College of the Atlantic campus is adjacent and can provide wooded strolling on the bluffs above Frenchman's Bay as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for the last 8 years. Last year I stayed in the new building and the view was spectacular. The balcony was comfortable and overlooked the bay and I sat there and read. It is just far enough from town that I got my daily walk in walking to the shops. The breakfast was decent and a nice perk. Internet and cable worked well and the rooms were neat and clean. The cost is a bit pricey but I go off season so it's not that bad.

Room Tip: 4th floor oceanview rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Great views, great price and great service. The service is good and the staff know exactly where to find restaurants, activities , etc . My family and I usually come to bar harbor once a year but can never find a hotel that we really like. So far, this hotel has been exactly what we are looking for. Rooms are very clean. We will definitely visit again...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center

Address: 119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 12 beautiful acres just one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and the main entrance to Acadia National Park, the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel offers an ocean view from every room. Our brand new Atlantic View building offers everything you would expect from a modern hotel with fantastic views. Close enough to all the action of town, but just far enough away so you can relax. Our new rooms, friendly staff, and seasonal packages are the perfect combination of quality and value. Let us show you how beautiful the Maine coast can be.the AO is proud to announce the Grand Opening of its all new Bistro on Eden, a full service restaurant and bar.And with a great location comes great responsibility. The Bistro on Eden is a warm, lively restaurant and bar where people can be themselves and meet others in a friendly, comfortable setting. Overlooking Frenchman’s Bay it offers smashing views and intimate outdoor seating, where every seat faces the Atlantic Ocean. We feature great tasting fresh, seasonal comfort cooking with ingredients that are primarily sourced from local, small scale vendors. Above all you can expect warm, genuine service. That is something upon which we pride ourselves.We are located inside the lobby of the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. Bar Harbor, and Maine 04609. Open Tues. ~ Sat. 3pm ~ 10pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Oakes Resort
Atlantic Oakes Hotel
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel And Event Center Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.