We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The people to fish with in Bar Harbor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Islander Half-Day Fishing Trips

Islander Half-Day Fishing Trips
119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
+1 207-801-2300
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer 4 hour fishing trips in Frenchman Bay, Bar Harbor every day from June 15 through September 7. These are great family trips! We stay in Frenchman Bay where we anchor up and chum for Mackerel. We fish with jigs on light tackle making kids and adults alike feel like champion anglers! Our experienced deckhands will help you land your catch and take the fish off your line. We'll fillet and bag your catch for you, and tell tall tales on request! We sail daily at 8:00 a.M. From the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel, 119 Eden St. In Bar Harbor where we have Free and Easy On Site Parking! Space is limited - all tackle included on all fishing trips (you may also bring your own if desired). During July & August we also offer an afternoon 3 hour trip from 5 p.M. To 8 p.M. On Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The people to fish with in Bar Harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Took this trip on a sunny Sunday. Had a successful trip and filets from multiple fish to bring home. The Captain let us stay out and extra hour. We saw whales, seals, the most desolate light house, and all kinds of birds. Had a nice ride back to the dock viewing the shore of Acadia Park. Go here if you want to charter a fishing boat while visiting Bar Harbor and Acadia Park.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain Gary F, Owner at Islander Half-Day Fishing Trips, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback! We're happy your trip was successful and that you also enjoyed the scenery of Mount Desert Rock Lighthouse. Our crew enjoyed all the wonderful passengers on the first trip offshore for this season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    1
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Caught lots of fish and saw great wildlife!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Went out on a Friday morning and had a great time. Unlike most ocean fishing trips I've been on we caught lots of small fish. We moved around from place to place following fish on sonar so there was a lot of action. We caught five types of fish. Our guide Chuck was great. You don't have to be an experienced fisherman to become self-sufficient on the boat very quickly. We also drove right past the Egg Rock light house and saw seals and bald eagles. Chuck threw one of the pollock we caught by the boat so an eagle would swoop in and catch it - so cool to see that up close! There was a wide variety of ages on our boat from kids to seniors and a good time was had by all. In particular the kids who got to catch lots of fish, see the gutting and filleting process, throw fish to the eagles, etc. Highly recommend.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun for everyone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

As residents of MDI, my partner and I had certainly fished the area before, by my visiting family had not. We decided to go on the Islander, and bot am I glad we did! The kids had a wonderful time and so did we! The crew were very attentive and wonderful, and the fishing was great! We will certainly do this again in the future, and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great time fishing!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great time for Kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

I took my two kids (9&7 y/old) on this trip. With ease, we caught mackerel and pollack. The Capitan and Deckhand had great patience with my kids and helped bait the lines and remove hooks from fish. The also pointed out wildlife and helped us spot two Bald Eagles. I highly recommend for any family. It is a great activity to get out on the water to see and catch some wildlife. The Islander boat is perfect size and safe, they even had snacks for purchase.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowdoin, Maine
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We could not have picked a more beautiful day nor a more friendly and accomodating crew. From start to finish we had such a good time fishing AND sightseeing. We had an added bonus of being able to observe a couple of bald eagles. There were children and adults on the trip and everyone caught fish. I would recommend this crew to ANYONE.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Islander Half-Day Fishing Trips also viewed

Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Islander Half-Day Fishing Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islander Half-Day Fishing Trips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.