We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seacroft Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seacroft Inn
Save
You added Seacroft Inn to your Saves list
18 Albert Meadow, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 33 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
kansas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2007

The Seacroft Inn is a great place to stay. Any one going to Bar Harbor should stay hear.If I ever go back will only stay at the Seacroft Inn.Dave&Bunny Brown very nice people make you want to stay forever.Charlotte Leach of Eudora Kansas

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2006

We were in Bar Harbor for one night and stayed at the Seacroft Inn. The innkeepers were very hospitable and accommodating to our needs. My husband turned in a rental car in Bangor and Dave even gave him a ride back to Bar Harbor because he was there on business. And he also gave us a ride at 7 am to the ferry terminal on the morning we left. The room was very spacious and the continental breakfast that was provided was perfect for our stay. It was nice to be able to have breakfast at our leisure in our room. The refrigerator and microwave were nice amenities to have in the room. The location could not have been better - you don't need a car. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2006

The location of the Seacroft Inn is excellent. It's between the sea and the village. You won't have to drive anywhere while in BH. The exterior of the house is beautiful. It is on a very quiet street with plenty of parking.
Please note the photos of the rooms. They show exactly what you will get. The furniture is a hodgepodge and the bed very uncomfortable. The bathroom needed updating.
The fireplace was a plus. The owners are very nice.
The room was worth paying the off season rate but not if we paid summer rates.
I would recommend this B & B for the location and the setting.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratham, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2006

We didn't even know the Seacroft was there for the first few years we visited Bar Harbor! It is tucked away on a quiet side street, yet right in the middle of downtown. I found it doing a search on the internet when our favorite B&B closed in Bar Harbor.

Bunny and Dave (and Tucker) have a lot of personality and are great to spend time with. They keep their home in perfect shape. The rooms are beautiful and simply decorated, with lots of scenic paintings by Bunny. Each room has a refrigerator. Our favorite room - room 3 also has a gas fireplace.

We love that we can skip breakfast and get a savings on the room so we can walk over to the Cottage Street Bakery - where we always feel like a local even if we only visit one week a year.

I cannot say enough about the location. It is between downtown and the Shore Path. The off-street parking is great and there are Adirondack chairs to sit and relax in outdoors.

The value is unbelievable. The rooms are much cheaper than equivalent B&B's in town.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2005

My wife, daughter and I spent two wonderful days in Bar Harbor this August. Although the perfect, almost early Autumn-like weather was a positive factor, our stay at Bunny and Dave's inn rounded out the 10 on a scale of 10 for this trip. The only downside was the fact that we couldn't stay longer (something we will remedy next visit). We've stayed in several Bed and Breakfast style inns before and we've stayed in many hotels of various comfort and price levels. Some B&Bs get almost too homey for us, kind of like you're staying with your Aunt May. On the other hand, hotels can offer you more privacy, but many lack any sort of charm. The Seacroft had that perfect balance of maintaining a guests privacy while at the same time adding the atmosphere of being at home. Dave and Bunny were both extremely friendly and engaging hosts, but at the same time never overbearing, respecting the privacy of their guests.

Some of the rooms in the inn had interior entrances while others, like ours, had its own private exterior entrance. Our room was tastefully decorated, but was not lavish. We had all the amenities necessary to make our stay comfortable, from a queen bed (albeit a bit too soft for me), a small refrigerator (may not be in all rooms) and a clean and well-maintained bathroom. I can't emphasize clean. This inn was spotless. I found it amazing that just the two of them can keep a large old house like that in such good shape and everything was clean, clean, clean. Did I say clean? Yeah, I did. Well, I meant it.

The breakfast was not a full spread, but instead a simply prepared basket of warm muffins, yogurt and fruit delivered to our door each morning. I thought it was a nice touch and just enough for us. They also serve coffee in the front parlor in the morning until 10am. If you still need more to fill the morning growl monster, the bustling dowtown Bar Harbor is just a block up the street.

Location, location, location. Isn't that what your realtor alays told you? Well, Dave and Bunny must've listened when they bought this place. The inn is down a quiet side street towards the ocean just off main street in Bar Harbor. Walk out their front drive, turn right, walk about a block and you're right in the middle of Bar Harbor's main shopping and restaurant district. Turn left out of their drive and you're a short walk from the water. We were especially lucky to have a nearly full moon both nights we were there, and we spent our late evenings just sitting on the rocks down by the water in the moonlight.

Finally, I felt that the price was very reasonable for what we were getting. I think the proprietors work hard to make your stay pleasurable, while also keeping their rates relatively low. For the money, you get location, friendly innkeepers, lots of charm and good basic comfort. If you want pampering or state of the art surround sound television-DVD combos (13 inch tv with standard cable at the Seacroft worked just fine) , there are many other locations in Bar Harbor that can accomodate for a much higher price. It's all about what you want. And what we wanted was exactly what the Seacroft's owners delivered. Bravo, Bunny and Dave. We will see you on our next trip to Bar Harbor

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORIDA
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2005

I've stayed at many places in Bar Harbor over the past 10 years and found the Sea Croft Inn, while not advertised much, one of the best places to stay.

Queen Bunny (owner) can be seen always cleaning the place while her husband Dave treat all of the gurst like family.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seacroft Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacroft Inn

Address: 18 Albert Meadow, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Seacroft Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seacroft Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.