We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we needed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cleftstone Manor

Save Saved
You added Cleftstone Manor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cleftstone Manor
92 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 33 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Carterville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Everything we needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights in mid October at the Cleftstone. It was our first trip to Bar Harbor and our experiences will bring us back for a longer stay and I've already decided Cleftstone will be the place. Anne was a gracious hostess providing a great breakfast, local information in an inobtrusive way. If you are needy and think the owner of a B&B is there to be your companion/best friend/servant you probably need to look elsewhere but I wouldn't ask here to do things any differently than she did. Our room faced the street and I didn't hear road noise any night we were there. Once in our rooms we heard no noise either from within or outside the inn. With a fireplace in the room evenings were spent quietly reading in the wingback chair in front of a cozy fire. It was in the 20s outside at night while we were there. While we had a great time in Bar Harbor our next trip will be in early to mid September. Too many things closed for the season to enjoy the full MDI experience while there. The lone negative was that the wifi was spotty and intermittent at best but we were there to relax so we lived within the limitations of technology as it were.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    28
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
69
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mentor, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This by far was the BEST stay on our 3 stop vacation hands down. Ann the owner is wonderful. She greeted us when we checked in and gave us a brief tour of the B & B. Our room "Cleftstone" OMG was was just speechless when we walked in. It was the nicest room we have ever stayed in and we travel quite a bit between business and pleasure. I think could have stayed in our room for the whole 2 nights we were there but being the beautiful Bar Harbor with lovely Fall weather we did venture out.

The stay not only included a wonderful breakfast each morning (best I've had at any B & B) in the late afternoon there was also spread of appitizers for the guests. We met a lot of nice people at this gathering.

The town is great and the Acadia National Park is just breath taking. I had a broken foot on this trip so that did put a damper on things. We could not hike or ride bikes. We will for sure be back to Bar Harbor and will for sure stay at Cleftstone Manor.

Thank you Ann for making our stay so nice!!!! There is so much more I could write about this B & B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We recently stayed at Cleftstone Manor in Bar Harbor, ME. It is a historic Bed and Breakfast just minutes from the heart of Bar Harbor. We stayed in the Waldron Bates Suite and it was really nice. There was information in the room about who Waldron Bates was and how he related to the inn and to Bar Harbor. Very Interesting. Anne's breakfasts were exceptional! We looked forward to them every morning. The afternoon social hour was great! Light snacks were served and it gave a chance to mingle with the other guests staying there. I loved the big claw foot tub in the bathroom and the wonderful complementary bath salts made for a relaxing moment after a long hike in Acadia National Park. I would recommend this B & B highly. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: I would recommed any of the rooms on the third floor that face the ocean. We had a wonderful of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed at Cleftstone Manor in September. Contrary to some of the reviews I have read, I found Anne, the innkeeper to be very knowledgeable, pleasant, helpful and very efficient. She was a wealth of very helpful knowledge. If I was in Bar Harbor again, I would definitely stay there again. Breakfasts were always different and great. Keep up the great work.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Cleftstone Manor for 2 nights.
The B&B is located next to the busy main street and our room faced this street. It's an nice, old building but going to the Acadia Park we didn't expect to have so much noise during the night. The internal acoustic isolation internal isn't much either. So keep in my mind you can hear other guests walking, talking, flushing toilets.
Next to this the place looks nice, the room was fine (although a but stuffy) and the breakfast is good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Cleftstone was a great find. We did not want to spend an arm-and-a-leg, but we wanted a nice stay. Cleftsone met the bill. We had a room (I think that there is only one) with a bath across the hall, and it worked out fine.

It was very clean and Anne, the owner, had excellent appetizers out each evening. The breakfast was as good as I have ever had in any restaurant. Really, knock your socks off great. We did not take advantage of the pool at the adjoining establishment but it was excellent also. Highly recommend, and Anne is top-flight.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and can't say enough. The place is super clean, hospitalible, easy to access. The breakfast are wonderfull (yes with 2 Ls): could hardly eat lunch. The evening appetizers are first class: well-prepared and varied and could replace dinner if need be. Good value for the price. I would go back. You can use amenities of the Bluenose next door: pool, spa, great room, gym.

Room Tip: Look at the rooms on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cleftstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleftstone Manor

Address: 92 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleftstone Manor, built in 1884 on "Millionaire's Row", is one of the few Victorian mansions to escape the fire of 1947. The sixteen guestrooms, each have private bath, many have TV, AC, phone, fireplace and whirlpools. The magnificent common rooms are furnished with Victorian antiques and period pieces, creating an atmosphere reminiscent of turn of the century Bar Harbor. Enjoy a gourmet breakfast each morning and afternoon refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cleftstone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleftstone Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Cleftstone Manor Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cleftstone Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.