We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience - contrary to some reviews I have read” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cleftstone Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cleftstone Manor to your Saves list
Cleftstone Manor
92 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 33 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience - contrary to some reviews I have read”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed at Cleftstone Manor in September. Contrary to some of the reviews I have read, I found Anne, the innkeeper to be very knowledgeable, pleasant, helpful and very efficient. She was a wealth of very helpful knowledge. If I was in Bar Harbor again, I would definitely stay there again. Breakfasts were always different and great. Keep up the great work.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    29
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
9
76
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Cleftstone Manor for 2 nights.
The B&B is located next to the busy main street and our room faced this street. It's an nice, old building but going to the Acadia Park we didn't expect to have so much noise during the night. The internal acoustic isolation internal isn't much either. So keep in my mind you can hear other guests walking, talking, flushing toilets.
Next to this the place looks nice, the room was fine (although a but stuffy) and the breakfast is good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Cleftstone was a great find. We did not want to spend an arm-and-a-leg, but we wanted a nice stay. Cleftsone met the bill. We had a room (I think that there is only one) with a bath across the hall, and it worked out fine.

It was very clean and Anne, the owner, had excellent appetizers out each evening. The breakfast was as good as I have ever had in any restaurant. Really, knock your socks off great. We did not take advantage of the pool at the adjoining establishment but it was excellent also. Highly recommend, and Anne is top-flight.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and can't say enough. The place is super clean, hospitalible, easy to access. The breakfast are wonderfull (yes with 2 Ls): could hardly eat lunch. The evening appetizers are first class: well-prepared and varied and could replace dinner if need be. Good value for the price. I would go back. You can use amenities of the Bluenose next door: pool, spa, great room, gym.

Room Tip: Look at the rooms on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

When I browsing here before booked our Bar Harbor trip, I was quite concerned by the comment below about Anne being "unaccommodating". To play safe I decided to split our 4-night stay in Bar Harbor into two, 2 at Cleftstone and the other 2 somewhere else. And let me tell you how I regretted for that decision at the moment I stepped into this place.

Full of historic touches yet free of oldie odors, our room is immaculate, super clean and charmed with wonderful antique furniture. Their breakfast is so tasty and carefully prepared it's far beyond ordinary B&B level and good portion for a long day of hiking. The staff are attentive and helpful. As for Anne - she is awesome!! I even got her recipe book after donating to their lovely recipe box. Everyone was so happy and refreshed during our stay and they complained about the second place I picked :(

Thank you Anne for making our trip perfect and memorable. I will stay nowhere but at Cleftstone next time. And the reason I gave 4 to Rooms is because of the hot water issues some other viewers mentioned.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Cleftstone manor was a fantastic inn with a lot of charm. The breakfast was excellent every day, and the staff was attentive, professional and friendly. Ann was a great hostess with a lot of knowledge and resources about the area. She let us borrow hiking and biking books. The social hour was perfect after a day of activity with just enough snacks to hold you over until dinner, and gave you a chance to meet people you would otherwise pass by. If I return to bar harbor I will definitely stay there again. I would recommend it to anyone. It was the unexpected cherry on top of our vacation!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My partner and I found Anne to be unaccomodating and unpleasant. She was gruff and rarely said good morning. As a matter of fact my partner went down early in the morning to get coffee and heard Anne and an employee arguing in the kitchen rather loudly. As for breakfast, the only two options each day were a quiche or baked omelet and pancakes or french toast. I requested an egg white omelet due to medical dietary needs and Anne told me that was not possible as the baked omelet was already made. This was not an acceptable answer, in her advertisement on the Internet it clearly states to let her know of any dietary needs. The room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cleftstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleftstone Manor

Address: 92 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleftstone Manor, built in 1884 on "Millionaire's Row", is one of the few Victorian mansions to escape the fire of 1947. The sixteen guestrooms, each have private bath, many have TV, AC, phone, fireplace and whirlpools. The magnificent common rooms are furnished with Victorian antiques and period pieces, creating an atmosphere reminiscent of turn of the century Bar Harbor. Enjoy a gourmet breakfast each morning and afternoon refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cleftstone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleftstone Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Cleftstone Manor Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cleftstone Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.