We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cleftstone Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cleftstone Manor to your Saves list
Cleftstone Manor
92 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 33 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Cleftstone manor was a fantastic inn with a lot of charm. The breakfast was excellent every day, and the staff was attentive, professional and friendly. Ann was a great hostess with a lot of knowledge and resources about the area. She let us borrow hiking and biking books. The social hour was perfect after a day of activity with just enough snacks to hold you over until dinner, and gave you a chance to meet people you would otherwise pass by. If I return to bar harbor I will definitely stay there again. I would recommend it to anyone. It was the unexpected cherry on top of our vacation!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    29
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
9
76
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My partner and I found Anne to be unaccomodating and unpleasant. She was gruff and rarely said good morning. As a matter of fact my partner went down early in the morning to get coffee and heard Anne and an employee arguing in the kitchen rather loudly. As for breakfast, the only two options each day were a quiche or baked omelet and pancakes or french toast. I requested an egg white omelet due to medical dietary needs and Anne told me that was not possible as the baked omelet was already made. This was not an acceptable answer, in her advertisement on the Internet it clearly states to let her know of any dietary needs. The room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We loved our stay at Cleftstone Manor! Everything met our expectations. The breakfasts were delicious and the rooms were comfortable. The commons areas are beautiful. We loved the perfect location; it was right outside of town, taking only a minute to drive downtown. The only issue we had was with the hot water for showers. Several times during a shower, the water would get cold. But it would get hot again immediately, so it wasn't a big deal. Also, the rooms where our party stayed weren't decorated as nicely as other B&Bs we've visited, but we knew what to expect from the online pictures. (The website for this bed & breakfast is also excellent!) Overall, we felt that Cleftstone Manor was a very inviting and charming place and for such a great value!

Anne was extremely helpful. She didn't mind all our questions about restaurants and activities in Acadia. She was eager to offer us great suggestions. Actually, Anne's help and advice was probably the best part of our stay. If we ever return to Bar Harbor, this is where we plan to stay.

Room Tip: The website shows pictures of all the rooms and exactly where they are located in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Almost exactly one mile walk to the center of Bar Harbor, this elegant Inn is a source of continuing pleasures on our annual trek to Maine. While a week's time seems to fly away, we daily are reminded how fortunate we are to have discovered this little piece of heaven. Anne and her staff go well out of their way to make their guests comfortable. If the generous breakfast was not enough, prepare to be pampered by the mid-afternoon treats that are served in Abbie's Retreat, a sun porch just off the dining and living rooms. This is a great place to gather with friends and other guests before heading off to dinner or some late shopping and sightseeing. We anticipate multiple return trips in our efforts to escape the heat of Texas.

Room Tip: There is a room for nearly every price bracket here at Cleftstone. The rooms upstairs, are for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florence forum
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Cleftstone Manor is a quaint Inn run by Ann, who is a very knowledgeable innkeeper. She offered advice on the area and even let us borrow her cd for our trip to Acadia Park. Her inn is immaculate and very well run. Her homemade breakfasts were scrumptious and I actually had the best eggs benedict ever! Very nice appetizers and converstation in the afternoons. The room we stayed in was the Joseph Pulitzer. It had its own entrance and was very clean. Chocolates and sherry were complimentary in our room, a nice touch. The only negative I could think of was that this room was a bit unconventional, with another entrance which was the bathroom which led us to the breakfast room. This seemed a little bizarre, but we used the other entrance to exit our room. All in all we had a great stay at the Cleftsone Manor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

While a little off the beaten path in Bar Harbor, the Cleftstone Manor is a beautiful B&B worth the distance from downtown. The homemade breakfasts are the perfect way to get fueled up for a day of hiking in Acadia and the delicious afternoon snacks make the perfect excuse to sit with the other guests and get great dining, hiking and vacationing tips...and Ann, the owner jumps right in and is a wealth of knowledge. The Joseph Pulitzer room was a little strangely located right off the breakfast room, but the private entrance was very convenient. It was also fun to learn about the history of the island, the town and the manor...how cool that Joseph Pulitzer (yes, that Pulitzer) used to stay there! We'd definitely stay again if we found ourselves in Bar Harbor!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmer City, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Price is comparable to other locations in the area. Rooms are clean. Bathrooms clean and about the size of some hotel rooms. Breakfast was very good and you have a couple of items to choose from. Service was good. We would stay here again. We would recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cleftstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleftstone Manor

Address: 92 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleftstone Manor, built in 1884 on "Millionaire's Row", is one of the few Victorian mansions to escape the fire of 1947. The sixteen guestrooms, each have private bath, many have TV, AC, phone, fireplace and whirlpools. The magnificent common rooms are furnished with Victorian antiques and period pieces, creating an atmosphere reminiscent of turn of the century Bar Harbor. Enjoy a gourmet breakfast each morning and afternoon refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cleftstone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleftstone Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Cleftstone Manor Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cleftstone Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.