We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anne's White Columns Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Anne's White Columns Inn to your Saves list
Anne's White Columns Inn
57 Mount Desert Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 34 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Not just the service-the welcoming hospitality, the delicious food, and pleasant company were all a plus during our short stay in Bar Harbor. We will definitely come back not only to this island for another getaway, but also to take up lodging and friendliness here. Thank you to the owner! I was also in the center of town for my excursions while my husband napped. Coming back soon!!!

Room Tip: Bedrooms were good-size with immaculate bathrooms. We also had an outside porch for afternoon "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    21
    4
    6
    0
See reviews for
4
52
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

What a great find. Location is excellent very close to the harbor, shop, restaurants (try havana's) and the fantastic acadia national park. Our room was great. The daily cheese and wine reception was a nice way to meet other guests and Bob the proprieter was a great host. Breakfast was american style so may not suit some tastes but hey you're in the USA, we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My girlfriend and I had three great days at White Column's Inn. It's a 5-minute walk from Bar Harbor restaurants, it's beautiful and has a great, great breakfast.
We were also pleased by the daily wine and cheese reception and heated patio: they gave more occasions to mingle and chat with the other guests. Mr Bahr, the host, also plays the piano in town sometimes.
I loved the room. If the weather had been better, we'd have enjoyed our own terrace. As it was, we enjoyed the lush decor and bed. It is was really a pleasure and I'd recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I'm a solo traveler and I stayed here for one night on my New England Road Trip in September. I stayed in room #3.

Everything about this place is first class. I loved my room, (and it smelled really good,) the grounds, food, happy hour, but most of all, Robert! This inn is within walking distance to great shopping, restaurants and sightseeing. The "Social Hour" was fun - especially for someone travelling alone. I met up with other guests for complimentary wine and snacks while we discussed the day, our reasons for travelling and what we planned to do the next day. But most of all, it was Robert who made my stay extra-special. He made dinner reservations for me at a local hot spot and provided a self-guided CD for my quick tour around Acadia National Park. I would definitely recommend this inn!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
183 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 days at the White Columns Inn and thought it was very good. The location was great, easy walking distance to restaurants and downtown Bar Harbor and building, rooms and grounds were nice. The rooms are not large but fine for a couple, the wine and cheese every eve3nting from 5 til 7 was excellent and the breakfast was outstanding.. Bob, the owner, was very helpful and accommodating. We would return.

Room Tip: Easy walk to downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We, along with three other couples, stayed at Anne's White Columns Inn in September 2012. From the very beginning we knew we would love this B & B. We were going to be late arrivals so I called and spoke with Anne who assured us it would be no problem. We found the rooms to be comfortable and beautiful. Bob and Anne, our hosts, were gracious and helpful. The breakfasts were awesome! Anne is a very good cook! In the afternoons they provided wine and finger foods. We cannot say enough about Anne's White Columns Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Just got back from a stay at the White Columns Inn and thought it was very good. The location was great, easy walking distance to restaurants and downtown Bar Harbor and building, rooms and grounds were nice. The rooms are not large but fine for a couple and the breakfast was good. Bob, the owner, was very helpful and accommodating. I would consider staying there again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.8 mi away
Cleftstone Manor
Cleftstone Manor
#26 of 34 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B
0.1 mi away
Graycote Inn
Graycote Inn
#22 of 34 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mira Monte Inn
Mira Monte Inn
#18 of 34 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
5.5 mi away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
6.3 mi away
Heathwood Inn & Suites
Heathwood Inn & Suites
#28 of 34 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anne's White Columns Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anne's White Columns Inn

Address: 57 Mount Desert Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'As contemporary a Victorian bed and breakfast as you can find' - Weekending in New England. Anne's White Columns Inn is located in the Historical Corridor in downtown Bar Harbor and is surrounded with award winning gardens. The ten guestrooms each have private bath, TV and air-conditioning. Upon entering through the columned portico, one is greeted by the Victorian elegance of the foyer and salon. The large enclosed porches provides a peaceful setting for the full served breakfast and afternoon refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Anne's White Columns Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anne`s White Columns Hotel Bar Harbor
Anne's White Columns Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anne's White Columns Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.