We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Village Motel and Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Eden Village Motel and Cottages to your Saves list
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
986 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Pownal, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Several small detached cottages and a motel type main facility. Our room had a kitchenette with fridge, stove, sink and micro-wave. Very functional, lots of utensils, plates, glasses, mugs.
The motel has a deck the full length with picnic tables for each room. No privacy for dining but very nice looking out on a meadow. Family owned and operated.

Just a few miles from the Hulls Cove park entrance.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have kitchens, ask if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    132
    30
    6
    4
See reviews for
141
162
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We (a group of 6), visited Maine during the last long weekend & stayed at this cottage near Bar Harbour. It was an amazing experience as our cottage was just adjacent to a pond with an amazing backdrop of greenery. The cottage was sufficient for the 6 of us, beds neatly made (2 bedrooms), one bathroom (no bathtub, but only a shower since the area is small), kitchen with fridge, burner, and necessary utensils. Also there were 2 TVs, one in the hall and another in a bedroom. We enjoyed the misty morning walks around the pond, seeing the ducks & enjoyed the cool breeze. Also the location is very accessible to all the major attractions like Acadia National Park, Bar Harbour, Acadia Air Tours airport, etc. Overall this place is a wonderful choice for a vacation in Maine! Thank you for the great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden_Village, Owner at Eden Village Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We enjoyed having you all here with us! So glad you enjoyed your stay. Our largest cottage is certainly one of the popular ones due to its size. We hope you will visit us again soon and we truly appreciate your review! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We rented a cottage for a week here and had a fantastic experience. The cottages were comfortable and relaxing. The screened in porch area was perfect for breakfast and sitting out in the evening.

However, what really makes this place outstanding is how friendly the owner and staff were, and how helpful. They really made our stay in Bar Harbor great, thanks!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden_Village, Owner at Eden Village Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay! We love what we do and love where we live and are happy we could share that with you! Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We rented two of the cute Sears cottages on the right side of the property. The outside of the cottages have a lot of character and are a nice departure from a hotel or motel room at the same price. The property is a nice distance out of downtown Bar Harbor, but easy to miss the driveway especially at night. It is certainly not a luxury cottage, but overall clean and looks like the owners keep on making updates. Our cottage had a new bathroom sink and and updated bathroom, but the porch and kitchen area was very old. Towels were a nice thickness and quality which I appreciated. The second cottage we rented had a really nice porch where we ate breakfast. I think this is a good place to stay if you want a step up from camping and it is certainly a good value for those on a budget. Each cottage has a picnic table and grill which we didn't get to use but is nice to have. Most cottages have a bed in the front room and it would be more convenient to keep the beds in the back room and have the couch and futons in the front room. I didn't like opening the front door and having the bed right in front of me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden_Village, Owner at Eden Village Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for the review! We are trying to make updates each year with help from folks like you. We take all of the feedback we get into consideration which in turn helps us make the needed updates. We truly appreciate the reviews we receive and glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed here with my 8 year old daughter and we both loved it. My daughter loved the paddle boats and the ducks and the playground! The bed was very comfortable and the cottage was extremely clean as were the grounds. The owner made some great recommendations for things to do in Bar Harbor. We had an issue with the shower and it was fixed within 10 minutes. Overall this was a great experience and we will definitely stay there again next year. Absolutely phenomenal value for the price and location. Thanks for an awesome stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in Cottage 2 and 3 and both were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden_Village, Owner at Eden Village Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review! We loved having you both here and look forward to your stay next year. So glad that you had a good time here in Bar Harbor and we could be helpful in things to do! We appreciate the business! See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here because of the good reviews we read on Trip Advisor, and because of the reasonable rates. I will start with the good things- it is well located to the sights of Bar Harbor and Acadia, the grounds are pretty, and the cottage was very clean at the outset. I was disappointed because I feel that the owners and housekeeping were indifferent. The website advertises housekeeping, but I'm not actually sure what the housekeeper did. The trash was sometimes taken out (I actually had to pile it by the door one day), the floor wasn't swept, the bed not made, the bathroom not cleaned. I had to ask for more toilet paper when we ran out. I was only told about the housekeeping limitations upon checking in- very annoying because who wants to clean when on vacation? I could have stayed home to sweep the floor and do dishes, not travel to Bar Harbor. Had I known about this I would have stayed elsewhere. I was also disappointed because when reserving the cottage, I told the proprietor that we were traveling with a baby, but the cottage lacked a few things that would have been helpful- like an actual bathtub to bath her in, and a freezer so we could have ice packs to keep her food/bottles cold while seeing the sites. Another caveat was the super small shower stall. My husband is six feet tall, and actually had to stand partway outside the stall to shower. We tried to make the best of our stay, and we did enjoy Bar Harbor and Acadia, but I won't say that the annoyances of the cottage didn't put a damper on our trip. They did, and we won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask about each cottage before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden_Village, Owner at Eden Village Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We have heard folks complaints about our policy of not making the beds in the cottages and have recently changed that policy - although this does nothing for your stay, - We do apologize (dishes are still the guests' responsibility). As for the no tub part, on our website descriptions of each individual cottage is clearly listed out with a 32" shower unit and you were explained when making the reservation which cottage you were in so that you could read about it. As for the items that were missing or did not get done that were supposed to, we can only apologize and let you know that housekeeping has recently changed hopefully rectifying the situation - again does nothing for your stay and we can only apologize. We do take all of our reviews to heart and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranac Lake, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for a week and my boyfriend and I absolutely loved it. The lady that check us in was so helpful letting us know what restaurants to eat at and where to park when in bar harbor which was great. Just far away from town to get away from the bustle of town but still close. We stayed in cottage 2 which was great for the two of us. It had a porch which we sat on at night and watched the cars go by. The ducks at the pond were absolutely adorable also. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden_Village, Owner at Eden Village Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! So glad we could be helpful when it came to finding some good places to eat and the secrets to parking in downtown. We hope to see you all again very soon! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Village Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Village Motel and Cottages

Address: 986 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden Village, a vacation resort situated on 25 beautifully landscaped acres offers vacationers clean comfortable motel and cottages (cabins) accommodations only minutes from Bar Harbor Center, Acadia National Park and the shore. All cottages are housekeeping units with kitchenettes. Motel rooms have a/c in season and some with kitchenettes. Fish or pedal boat at no charge in our private pond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Eden Village Motel and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Village Motel And Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Eden Village Hotel
Eden Village Motel And Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Village Motel and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.