We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please support this venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Criterion Theater

Criterion Theater
35 Cottage St., Bar Harbor, ME 04609
207-288-3441
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 25 Attractions in Bar Harbor
Type: Theaters
Attraction Details
Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Please support this venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The Criterion is a Bar Harbor landmark that recently went under some major renovations but still has a long way to go. It was closed last year and just re-opened to the public with a less than impressive welcome. The beauty of this place in in its history and its appointments. It's a rare thing to be able to sit in the balcony of a movie theater these days and even rarer to have a place to set down your snacks without huddling them in your lap for two hours. The Criterion offers both and they offer reasonably priced concessions - something you just don't see anymore. We got to see Dark Knight Rises the other night and got out of there for about $11 a person, including popcorn, soda and snacks. Tickets as of 8/2012 are $8 for everyone and for all shows. Not bad at all. They do need to do something about the projector since it doesn't perfectly align with the screen (it's probably been in the same place for fifty years) but I would assume, if the new owners are smart, they will invest in a digital projector and a sound system that takes full advantage of the Criterion's amazing acoustics when they make a little more money. This is where we come in: go to the Criterion. Make sure it stays open. It is a Bar Harbor icon and it deserves our patronage and our admiration.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    0
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great theater! Art deco to the max!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I recommend paying up for the bacony seating in this wonderful art deco theater. Worth every penny. Great spot to take the kids.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow, Alaska
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Hope it reopens soon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

It's been a while but seeing movies in this old theater was great. Balcony seats for the extra buck were great and the whole experience took you back in time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surry, Maine
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Criterion Theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Good fun to come here to a performance of your choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“A Snapshot in Time... A Historic Must See Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Being that it was raining in a very outdoorsy town, I was looking for something to do. An old theater in town was showing a documentary… not exactly whoop-de-doo for my two young children, but there wasn’t a heck of a lot else going on, so we tried it. The movie not so entertaining… The movie-house – The Criterion -- what a jewel of the past. The boys had fun up in the balcony – the theater wasn’t crowded, so we had room to move around. Plus our seats had a table, and they could play with their toys, while I attempted to watch the movie. Finally bored enough by the film, we started wandering about and one of the gentlemen who manages the place showed us around. First of all, everything in there is original. For a history and/or architecture buff (of which I am both), I was in heaven. Not to mention, it was so lovely that the gentlemen who run the place took the time to give us a tour and showed us details (including backstage) which I will never forget. Does the place need work? Absolutely – they need money, and anyone who sets foot in the door should be heralding this treasure, because it could be in danger of being lost. Make no mistake, this is a historic treasure. To see all the Art-Deco details in their original state is amazing. Original movie posters on the wall… Even if you don’t stay for a movie – visit and pay just to wander around.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Criterion Theater also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Criterion Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Criterion Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.