We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort like surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wonder View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Wonder View Inn to your Saves list
Wonder View Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Eden Street, PO Box 25, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Bar Harbor
1 review
“Beautiful resort like surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

We were a family of three adults and the room was adequate for us. Two double beds, with one of sleeping on the floor on sleeping bags. The hotel charges you $25 for a roll away bed per night.

What we enjoyed most about the hotel were the spacious and quiet surroundings it was set in giving it a resort like feel. You get va beautiful view of Frenchman's bay from the balcony of every room on the hilltop side. It is right on the shuttle route which comes by every 15 minutes that takes downtown. Also walking distance, but crossing the road by the hotel when it is dark can be very difficult. Lot of traffic on the main road.

Free continental breakfast including fresh waffles and lots of fruits. There is the "lookout restaurant" in addition that is attached to the hotel, but except for the view you get from it, I did not see much value in the food here.

On the whole, it was a very good deal for the price. We paid $210+ per night on August.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We love our location which sits on over 14 acres of land giving it not only a resort feeling as you describe, but also plenty of space for that family barbeque or picnic, a walk with the dog, or a game of volley ball. As you have said we are also within walking distance to downtown and during the season of the shuttle we have transportation from our entrance straight to the Village Green every fifteen minutes.

I am glad to hear that you found our continental breakfast to your liking but sorry to hear that you were disappointed in our restaurant.

I hope that you will be coming back to Bar Harbor and will consider staying with us again.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Purdys, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We first visited this hotel in 2000., and stayed in about the same rooms on the same level as the office. At that time we had a wonderful view of Bar Harbor from our little balcony. The trees have taken over and the view is gone, except for a tiny piece in the distance off to the right. That was quite disappointing this time. Also disappointing, the rooms are exactly the same! Same draperies, same bedspreads, same linoleum bathroom. The carpet is the only upgrade in 14 years! The prices are not the same, and I cringe that we spent over $150 per night. That said, the rooms are large and the hotel quiet. The complimentary breakfast was a nice surprise and was the usual selections-waffles, yogurts, frozen breakfast sandwiches, hard boiled eggs,cereals and apples and oranges, muffins and donuts. We did not visit the restaurant up the hill this time, the menu is quite expensive and we were not confident that the food would live up to the prices so we skipped that.

We had a couple of great days at Acadia National Park and enjoyed our return trip there immensely! We had waited 14 years for the wonderful Popovers for afternoon tea on the lawn and it was just as delicious this time, even better as they now serve specialty coffees now!

Room Tip: If you want a view you need to stay in the rooms at the highest level of the property with the highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolO85249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us on Tripadvisor. It sounds as though you had a successful trip overall.

It is true that the trees are growing, this is one of the aspects of living in such a forested area. You might enjoy a room at a higher elevation the next time you visit and our reservation staff would be happy to help you get a room that will fulfill your desire for a better view at this time.

I am sorry that you did not decide to try our restaurant. We are very proud of both the quality and value of our food and once again the view from the restaurant is considered by many to be the best on the island.

I sincerely hope that you will visit us again, our repeat guests are like family to us and we hope to make you feel that way as well.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Yes, it is old fashioned. We stayed in the Hillcrest rooms, right at the top of the estate, next to the very good dog friendly Looking Glass Restaurant. Wonderful views from our balcony. Good complimentary breakfast at the office, which was the only place where we could get reasonably decent internet access. We tried to get this issue addressed several times without success. But overall, very happy with the cleanliness and comfort. Would certainly go back. And that view!!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alastair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us including your experience at our restaurant the Looking Glass. I am sorry to hear that Wifi was not satisfactory for you during your time with us. We strive to provide the best amenities and comfort to our guests at all times and it sounds as though you realized this in spite of that frustration.

I look forward to having you stay with us again and would like to have the opportunity to meet with you in person.

The view is breathtaking from most of our location and none of us ever take it for granted.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This was wonderful for us and our dog. It is very close to downtown Bar Harbor- one night we walked and one night we took the free shuttle bus which leaves from the front of the motel AND allows dogs.The motel is older but pretty well maintained. Dog-friendly is really an understatement. He received a treat and a water bowl upon check-in.It has a courtyard we could exercise our dog. We did see a pool but were too busy for this. The main selling point is the location. The staff was friendly. I suggest calling for a reservation directly- our third-party booking did not ensure our pet friendly room and view. The motel did work with us, however. All in all, we had a good experience. I am sure before the trees grew up, it was a wonder view. Still, for the price, you can't beat it.

Room Tip: Ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelerat40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. It is great to hear that you felt welcomed with your dog. Bar Harbor has recently been recognized as one of the best places to travel with your furry friends and we are proud to be a part of that.

We really do have an amazing location with over 14 acres of grounds within walking distance to downtown Bar Harbor. We describe our property as having the feel of a rural setting yet we are actually right in town.

I want to reitterate your comment about the importance of booking your room directly with the hotel. There are often special features to individual rooms on any property and it is important to know exactly what you are reserving when those details are important to you. Indead, asking for a specific view is often a request that can be honored.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The Wonder View Inn comprises 4 different levels of rooms, and I do mean 'levels.' Some rooms (small, look like the old 50's motel rooms) are on the lower level with the office; some rooms are slightly larger and on an incline above them; some rooms are larger and nicer yet, and are up again, near the fabulous restaurant. Plus, the property adjacent/combined, The Blue Nose, has 4-star rooms and a spa. So reserving a room there takes lots of questions and investigations. If you take the "available' room, no telling! You get what you pay for; in our case, they had the only rooms available in Bar Harbor and we paid $159 during high season. The room reminded me of traveling with parents in 1960 across the mid west... A fabulous feature in Bar Harbor, though, is the free bus that takes most hotels in the area down into the village green and returns all the time. It's terrific and solves that old wall-to-wall auto problem in tiny Bar Harbor. Wonder View is the closest hotel to town--maybe a 5 minute stroll, so its convenience is something to consider. The free breakfast is also convenient.

Room Tip: Ask which section of hotel you're booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank writingprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. It sounds like you had a really nice vacation and enjoyed our hotel for it's vintage qualities. Maine, including Bar Harbor, is always a mix of the old and the new. We love our property for the many facets it offers and completely agree with you that it always helps to call us directly to sort through exactly which type of room is right for you.

The Wonderview sits on 14 acres and is a cross between a retreat with a beautiful water view from a high peak and an in-town property, as we are only a short walk from downtown.

The shuttle service in Bar Harbor is unbeatable and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the service. I hope that you will consider joining us again if a return to Bar Harbor is in your future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Very dated and perhaps considered dilapidated, we gave it the good rating for what it is. Great price, best view, clean, comfortable room, slept great, and the coffee was perfect. AC ran perfect. I would go back.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Roadtrip091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for your overall positive review of our hotel. We are an older facility and we pride ourselves on the customer service, cleanliness, and overall experience we are able to give our customers.

I hope you enjoyed our restaurant The Looking Glass which is a top notch fine dining with a casual feel facility.

It is great to hear that you would come back to stay with us again and we certainly hope that you will.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Very nice, somewhat old fashioned hotel. Beautiful views, very clean rooms. We had to cut our stay short because of hurricane Arthur, which knocked out the power in half of the city, but we will definitely go there again. Very convenient transportation to downtown Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for your very positive review of our hotel and your stay with us. We are so glad to hear that you will be back to join us. Hurricane Arthur was quite the experience for Bar Harbor and it sounds as though you were great sports about it.

We are very pleased to hear that you appreciated the convenience of the shuttle service to Downtown and that you enjoyed our beautiful view. We look forward to seeing you again and hope that you can make it in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 40 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#24 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
#9 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 952 reviews
0.9 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#13 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#11 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wonder View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wonder View Inn

Address: 50 Eden Street, PO Box 25, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wonder View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the premiere locations in the area. Only a minute from downtown Bar Harbor, and Acadia National Park. Superb dining: Enjoy the famous, eight sided, glass walled, Looking Glass Restaurant, and enjoy the spectacular panorama that only the Wonder View’s unique location can provide. Comfortable rooms: Most balconies offer views of Frenchman’s Bay and the surrounding islands. Step out to our pool or stroll our beautifully manicured grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wonder View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wonder View Hotel Bar Harbor
Wonder View Inn And Suites
Wonder View Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing