We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wonder View Inn

Save Saved
You added Wonder View Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wonder View Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Eden Street, PO Box 25, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% OFF ALL FALL RATES!
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Bar Harbor
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Very nice, somewhat old fashioned hotel. Beautiful views, very clean rooms. We had to cut our stay short because of hurricane Arthur, which knocked out the power in half of the city, but we will definitely go there again. Very convenient transportation to downtown Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for your very positive review of our hotel and your stay with us. We are so glad to hear that you will be back to join us. Hurricane Arthur was quite the experience for Bar Harbor and it sounds as though you were great sports about it.

We are very pleased to hear that you appreciated the convenience of the shuttle service to Downtown and that you enjoyed our beautiful view. We look forward to seeing you again and hope that you can make it in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    68
    41
    24
    12
See reviews for
41
93
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Before you book here, be aware that it may be a trip down memory lane. For some this is a good thing in a hotel, for others not so much. We love the location, which is extremely close to downtown Bar Harbor but removed from the noise and bustle. We love the sweeping green lawns, the pool deep enough for diving and well-stocked with fluffy towels, the tire swing under gorgeous old oak trees, and the fact that you can open windows on both sides of the room for a nice cross breeze. The staff is always polite and happy to help. Yes, the rooms are dated (some more than others) and when you book you may want to request certain rooms to be sure you'll have a view of the ocean, but they are clean and spacious. I have stayed here many times and am happy that my own young children now look forward to staying at the Wonderview each summer just as I did 25 years ago.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
This is one of the best reviews I have seen of Wonderview. You have done such an excellent job describing our property with the expansive lawns, tire swing, deep pool and yes older facility. We hope our guests feel at home here and the nostalgia you describe is a wonderful part of that.

We are always happy to hear our guests tell us that their children are building happy memories here. It will be great fun to serve them and their families in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I've stayed at the Wonder View 4 times and always have an excellent stay. The hotel is very close to downtown Bar Harbor (walking distance), and if you prefer, the free Island Explorer shuttles come right to the hotel and get you into the center of town in less than 5 minutes. It is also a very quick drive into Acadia National Park. Although the rooms are a little dated they are always clean and comfortable. Courtyard rooms have small decks with views of the lawn, and rooms farther up the hill have excellent views of the water and mountains. Plan to come back again next year!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you so much for being one of our regular customers and for your positive review of our property for other potential guests. We are very honored to be a Bar Harbor hotel that has many guests such as yourself, who come to see us annually and as a point of contact for friends and families.

We are glad that our shuttle service is appreciated and that you appreciate the great job our house and grounds keeping staff do for us.

The views here are always the selling point and we as staff appreciate them as much as our visitors.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

After 10 years of vacations in the same room ( room 10) we, with some apprehension, changed to a bigger room to accommodate our growing daughter. Wonder View assigned us the perfect room and we had the same great experience we have had and the service was excellent as usual. Clean, Comfortable and quiet and nighttime made this a great 10 days. Wife and daughter LOVE the complimentary breakfast.

Room Tip: most rooms have great views and others have advantages. If clean and comfortable is what you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
We have many guests that visit us annually but it is great fun to hear that you have enjoyed the same room for so many years. It's great that your "new room" was equally well suited to you.

I hope that you were also able to enjoy a meal at The Looking Glass restaurant and a dip in our pool while you were here. Guests of the Wonderview are also welcome to make spa appointments at the Eden Spa at the Bluenose Inn. Finally, you are also welcome in the Great Room of the Bluenose Inn in the evenings from 7 to 11pm to hear our wonderful pianist Bill Trowell.

We look forward to your next visit and thank you again for your wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Village, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We had a nice time although Hurricane Arthur was there at the same time so we lost power for two of the nights. Even with that unexpected issue the staff was very helpful and kind. The room was a bit old but quaint and it was clean. Everything was in good running order, meaning the water for showers after the power came back and all fixtures etc were working properly. We felt safe as well, which is always important to me. We also had a couple of visitors, see pictures below! :) We didn't get a chance to have breakfast in the restaurant because of the weather but it looked very nice, comfortable and clean. If we get the chance again we will stay here. The views were wonderful! I can never get enough of Bar Harbor and the surrounding areas.

Room Tip: choose the top floor. We were in unit 71 which was a better view than the building below us or the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for your very positive review and also for being such great sports during your stay with us during Hurricane Arthur. I am very pleased to know that your stay was very comfortable and that you enjoyed your great view so much.

I love the pictures you have posted about your visitors and hope that you are aware that you are in great company here in Bar Harbor with other birdwathers who will also appreciate these photographs.

I do hope that you will be able to return soon and experience all the things that you were not able to do because of the interrupted power. The Looking Glass restaurant has wonderful food but another spectacular view as well. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermon, Maine
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We have stayed at the Wonder View Inn the last few years! The staff is always very courteous and helpful! We love to have dinner at the Looking Glass and enjoy drinks around the fire pit at night! Love that it is so close to downtown Bar Harbor! Look forward to future visits to the Wonder View!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you! It sounds like you have figured out how to enjoy our property and that you are building some wonderful memories with us. If you haven't already please be sure to introduce yourself to the management staff when you are here next.

I love the firepit in the evening too. It is a great place to have a drink, your meal and visit while enjoying the vista (and live jazz every Thursday night).

We will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We just returned from a July 4th weekend stay with our son, his family, and 2 dogs. We booked a moderately priced room near the office. We had originally reserved the lowest price room, but after reading the reviews, changed to the motel style rooms. We found our room fine for our needs. It had a very small balcony which we did not use since our son and family were in a room atop the hill and had a larger balcony and a beautiful view. We liked the refrigerator and coffee maker in the room. However, the room was somewhat old and a little tired. Our bathroom slanted slightly giving the feeling of being in a funhouse! The office staff couldn't have been nicer, however we weren't told about the continental breakfast (it also is not mentioned on the website) and it wasn't until the second morning did I notice the breakfast area. All in all, I would highly recommend it to others staying in the Bar Harbor region. The location is good and within walking distance to town, but there is a shuttle bus that runs often to take you into town if you prefer. We ate dinner one night at the Looking Glass restaurant which was excellent, but pricy compared to restaurant prices we saw in town.

Room Tip: I am glad that we chose to upgrade to a better room since just the outside of the lower building wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for your very positive review. You have done an excellent job detailing many of the highlights of the Wonderview and also pointing out the different features each building has to offer. We are proud to be able to offer our guests so many different options such as location, view, price point, and pet friendly.

I am glad that you found the continental breakfast area before too much time had passed but apologize that we did not tell you as you were checking in.

We are glad that you found our location to be convenient and appreciated the shuttle bus. We are very unique in that we have so much acreage right here in Bar Harbor.

The Looking Glass is a fine dining restaurant and the price point is in keeping with other fine dining restaurants in town but there are many less expensive options available in town and we are always more than willing to help our guests find the best. Please let us know if you ever need a recommendation and we will gladly assist you.

Thank you for staying with us and we certainly hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wonder View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wonder View Inn

Address: 50 Eden Street, PO Box 25, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wonder View Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the premiere locations in the area. Only a minute from downtown Bar Harbor, and Acadia National Park. Superb dining: Enjoy the famous, eight sided, glass walled, Looking Glass Restaurant, and enjoy the spectacular panorama that only the Wonder View’s unique location can provide. Comfortable rooms: Most balconies offer views of Frenchman’s Bay and the surrounding islands. Step out to our pool or stroll our beautifully manicured grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Wonder View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wonder View Inn And Suites
Wonder View Hotel Bar Harbor
Wonder View Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wonder View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.