We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View, good breakfast above.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wonder View Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wonder View Inn to your Saves list
Wonder View Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Eden Street, PO Box 25, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #32 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Essex
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great View, good breakfast above.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is in an ok location, 15minute walk to the main part of Bar Harbor. its a nice walk though. rooms was showing its age, clean and tidy though, good view, think we was in room 21. fridge was so loud kept waking me up, walls are paper thin so you can hear everything that goes on next door! staff are friendly. have breakfast in the restaurant about the Inn, it has even better views and the foods good to. I wouldn't stay here again though, shame as i was really looking forward to it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your visit to the property. I am very pleased that you found the location to your liking and that it is a very short walk to town. Glad to hear that you found the room so clean, the staff friendly and the breakfast in our adjacent restaurant to your liking. I deeply apologize for the noise from the fridge. This should have been repaired or replaced. I do hope that when your travel plans bring you back to Maine, you will once again consider the Wonder View Inn.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    75
    44
    30
    14
See reviews for
44
106
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great view from room 9, but the hotel is an older property, but it is well maintained. We did experience a problem with the tub backing up, but that was fix. Rooms are Not sound proof. Not sure I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the property. I am pleased that you found the location and maintenance to your satisfaction. I apologize for the tub issue as this should not have occurred but glad to hear it was fixed right away. The property is old but does offer a great location, is very clean and value priced. I do hope that when your travel brings you back to the area you will stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Located close enough to Bar Harbor that you could walk into town if you wanted, unlike a lot of the other big hotels. Staff were fairly helpful and friendly. Old-fashion motel style rooms, but clean and comfortable enough, with a veranda for sitting outside and enjoying the view. There is a good restaurant on site, which has a wide choice for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your recent visit to the property. I concur that our location of walking distance to the town and very close to Acadia National Park are great assets. Glad to hear that you found the staff friendly and the rooms clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed the restaurant on site. We hope to see you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

The room was clean, view over looked a lovely hillside, short walk to Bar Harbor. We had a mini - refrigerator with a small coffee pot. We had a king size bed - it was comfortable. Wifi was fine. There is a shuttle bus that will take you to town, runs every 15 - 20 minutes.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your excellent comments and pointing out that despite the fact the property is indeed older, we have WIFI throughout, a complimentary shuttle bus that takes guests all over the island, in room refrigerators and coffee and many other amenities. I hope that when your travel plans bring you back to the area, you will once again stay with us.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The only outstanding thing about this hotel is its location on a very beautiful park setting. However they bank on this one aspect and on the beautiful picture of a mouse on the internet to mainly fool guests as it really is just a dowdy, old and perfectly boring looking motel that, in another setting, would not be worth half the room price. Furthermore, one of the desk clerks (a blond looking East European sounding, young lady) could use a brush up in hotel manners. Staying for three nights and asking if we could get a room with a better view, her condescending answer was "You get what you pay for". In the next three days I saw that half the motel was empty so it wouldn't have been too much of an effort to please a customer. Also mattress was very uncomfortable, the small TV was in a very strange viewing position, the sink was just small enough for a 10 year old. BTW it would be nice to have a bit more than just coffee in the lobby....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the property. I concur with you that the number one asset of the hotel is it's location. I apologize for the situation with the front desk clerk. I have spoken to her and she feels horrible as she certainly did not mean to be rude in any way. I do apologize for the problems that you encountered during your stay and would like to offer you a night's complimentary lodging in 2014 to hopefully make amends. Please contact me directly to handle your reservation.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

First time in Bar Harbor, we based ourselves at this location. If you plan to arrive late, the front desk closes at 9:00pm
We were kind of lucky, as we got there just a few mins before closure, otherwise, you need to checkin at another hotel close by. Being unfamiliar with the area and being dark, it would have been very inconvenient.
The walls of the room are in cardboard, so I hope your neighbors are quiet as you are.
Being on the top of a hill, you feel a bit apart of the actual Bar Harbor.
Rest is pretty much what you would expect, no big surprises.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the property. We sincerely apologize for the confusion regarding check in. I do hope that you found the check in process to be satisfactory however.
While we are a little away from town and I certainly understand your feelings, many of our guests have considered this a benefit as we are close yet away from the noise and crowds.
I do hope that when your travel plans bring you back to the area, you will once again consider staying with us.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratham, NH
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed two nights in the Hillcrest Building which is located at the very top of the property next to the Looking Glass Restaurant. These rooms must have been recently revamped as they were very clean, spacious (actually huge) with fabulous views of Bar Harbor and Frenchmen's Bay. Another member of the party stayed in another building further down the hill and had no view whatsoever. My heat worked fine and always had plenty of tea and coffee in room. Don't know about the pool situation stated by previous reviewers as my stay here late Sept. was quite cool and cloudy. The main problem with the Hillcrest Building is that it is two stories without an elevator. This was no concern to me being on the second floor but might present difficulty for people who cannot climb stairs. It is also located pretty far up from the main building so you either have to walk down and up the hill again or drive down to catch the free Island Explorer shuttle that leaves from the front of the main building. My package included a full hot breakfast at the Looking Glass restaurant that was right next door thankfully. The restaurant has the same excellent views. The breakfast choices and quality was great but the service was somewhat on the slow side. The restaurant opens at 7 am and there were many people coming at that time.. My guess is the room and the views greatly depends on which building you choose.

Room Tip: White Hillcrest Building (next to Looking Glass Restaurant) Second level 67-71 if you don't min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality04609, General Manager at Wonder View Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the property. You are correct that the views do vary sharply from building to building as of course do the rates. I am glad you enjoyed the views from your room as well as the restaurant. I apologize for the somewhat slow service for breakfast but happy you enjoyed the meal.
I hope that when your travel plans bring you back to the area from New Hampshire you will once again consider us.
Sincerely,
Jim Ash
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wonder View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wonder View Inn

Address: 50 Eden Street, PO Box 25, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wonder View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the premiere locations in the area. Only a minute from downtown Bar Harbor, and Acadia National Park. Superb dining: Enjoy the famous, eight sided, glass walled, Looking Glass Restaurant, and enjoy the spectacular panorama that only the Wonder View’s unique location can provide. Comfortable rooms: Most balconies offer views of Frenchman’s Bay and the surrounding islands. Step out to our pool or stroll our beautifully manicured grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wonder View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wonder View Hotel Bar Harbor
Wonder View Inn And Suites
Wonder View Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wonder View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.