We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique educational experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Desert Island Oceanarium

Mount Desert Island Oceanarium
Route 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
207-288-5005
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 55 things to do in Bar Harbor
Attraction details
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Unique educational experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

It was a rainy day, so we and several dozen others decided to do an indoor activity, and it was well worth it! The staff are experts on lobsters and sea life and also at relating to both children and adults. The talks were directed at the adults, but the children were included in everything, especially the discovery room touch tank. I learned things about lobsters and lobstering that I never knew! Because it was so rainy, we opted not to do the Marsh Walk part of the tour, which was self-guided. There is no other lobster hatchery anywhere in the US, so this is the only place to see what we saw! Cool!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    50
    17
    9
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“informational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Very informational.There are a few different houses to visit as well as a marsh tour.The touch tank was very good,kids get to climb on a lobster boat n dress as a fisherman.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simple and local”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Staff are very positive, friendly and knowledgeable. The displays are a little run down. They aren't too well organized. The touch tank was the coolest part.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Highlight of our Coastal Trip- Entertaining and Educational!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I had been there as a young person and remembered it as being really interesting and that we got to touch some sea creatures so when we were in the area this year, it was a spot that I really wanted my young children to experience. We got there late in the afternoon, after the last tour had gone through. Thankfully, the owner had seen us coming in (two children ages 4 and 2 as well as an infant) and could see that we were travelling and very excited to be at the Oceanarium. Not only did he let us in, but provided a personal tour and allowed the kids to explore the center on their own - answering questions and supplying incredibly interesting facts that drew all of us into the conversation. The staffer that was in charge of the discovery pool stayed late to give us an opportunity to view and touch the creatures in the tank- sea stars, horseshoe crabs, etc. The owner, David, met with us again after the pool- and told us more about lobstering and gave both kids lobster trap liscensing bands that they promptly put on their wrists for bracelets. It was the highlight of our trip! Thank you to David and the staff for taking the time to show us the facility- we enjoyed every minute, especially the 45 minutes after you "closed". We'll be sure to visit again next time we head out that way- God Bless You.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Simple but informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We went to the Oceanarium on a rainy Saturday afternoon. It is not a big facility and you could probably visit the whole place in under an hour. Unfortunately the Discovery Pool was closed, but during one of the presentations, our kids were able to touch a lobster, sea cucumber and sea urchin. That being said, we learned some facts about lobsters that we did not know and the kids seemed to enjoy the presentation. The owners and staff were friendly. Overall, I would recommend visiting the Oceanarium on a day when the weather is not cooperative for hiking in Acadia.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Desert Island Oceanarium also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Mount Desert Island Oceanarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Desert Island Oceanarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.