We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Desert Island Oceanarium

Mount Desert Island Oceanarium
Route 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
207-288-5005
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 25 Attractions in Bar Harbor
Type: Aquariums
Attraction Details
Southwest Harbor, Maine
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great family experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Went as a child and then as a chaperone w my daughters class many many yrs later and still a great place to take your kids they get to touch and feel almost everything there

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    41
    17
    8
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saranac Lake, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mom & Pop”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Unless you're starved for something to do, I wouldn't waste the money on this. It's very simple and I suppose maybe childern would enjoy it more, but, only takes about 1/2 hour to tour.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Bar Harbor Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

While visiting Bar Harbor we wanted to ensure we stopped at the Ocenarium because our friends had raved about their visit this past year. We walked into the building and were warmly greeted by the owner and staff. They were so friendly from the moment we arrived. We proceeded to have a lengthy conversation with the owner about the lobster industry in Maine that was so informative. The lobster hatchery was extremely interesting. Our favorite part was the discovery pool where we got to see and touch starfish, horseshoe crabs, sea urchins and all kinds of fun specimen. The lovely woman teaching us all about these creatures was delightful, humorous, was full of facts and encouraged crowd participation. I highly recommend visiting the Oceanarium whether you are traveling with kids or on your own.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We found this wonderful treasure after spending 2 rainy days in September in Bar Harbor. The owner and his wife are extremely knowledgeable and spent lots of time answering questions. My husband is a retired science educator and we go to the coast of NC often. These two folks were entertaining and dedicated to preservation of the oceans. They added to what we know from our area. What a treat!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lobster Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed learning about Lobsters, what is being done to insure a larger survival rate and what the challenges are related to increasing the population. The show and the talk were very informative as well as entertaining. We're glad we went.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Desert Island Oceanarium also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Mount Desert Island Oceanarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Desert Island Oceanarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.