We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boat trip out to the lighthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Egg Rock Light

Egg Rock Light
Park Loop Road, Acadia National Park, Bar Harbor, ME 04605
207-288-3338
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 55 things to do in Bar Harbor
Attraction details
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Great boat trip out to the lighthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

We had a great boat trip out to the lighthouse. The naturist on board told us all about the sea birds and seals. He also talked about the old mansions along the shore and gave the history of the lighthouse.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    22
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Imperial Beach, California, United States
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Pretty little island lighthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Very scenic lighthouse with bald eagles when we visited there - dramatic! You'll need a boat to get there - take one of the "Friendship" boats from Bar Harbor - they're really good.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Connecticut
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Seals and scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Stopped while on a boat cruise. Lots of seals to see, some come close to the boat. Also saw a nesting bald eagle. You also get great views of the harbor. We were given some of the history of the lighthouse keepers.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cute little Lighthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

There are TONS of wild life on the break water attached to this light. We even saw a bald eagle hanging out on the ridge of the house. B E A U T I F U L

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, PA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Harbor seals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We went on a boat excursion and stopped here briefly to watch the seals and crashing surf. The lighthouse is not much to look at.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Egg Rock Light also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Egg Rock Light? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Egg Rock Light, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.