We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coastal charm & romance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantean Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantean Cottage
Save
You added Atlantean Cottage to your Saves list
11 Atlantic Avenue, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 34 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Coastal charm & romance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night at the Atlantean Cottage while on vacation in Bar Harbor. The inn is beautiful and has been beautifully maintained since being built over 100 years ago. Inside remains the cahrm of when the house was first built, beautiful moldings, ceilings and fireplaces. The innkeepers Gary & Heidi are warm and personable, making you feel at home in their home. The butlers pantry offering treats and beverages around the clock was wonderful. Our room was on the second floor (Edgemere)---very spacious, clean and comfortable. The king bed was like a cloud and had wonderful linens. The fireplace was romantic and we lit the log and enjoyed a fire. The bathroom was tastefully remodeled with heated flooring and a whirlpool tub---loved it! Very luxurious. Breakfast was delicious and unhurried. The location of the inn is perfect---tucked away from the main shops to offer quiet but within easy walking distance of the shops, restaurants and ocean. We will be back!! This is the best B&B we have stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
145
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

From the moment you walk through the doors of the Atlantean Inn you know you are in for a special treat! Gary and Heidi are very gracious hosts without being intrusive. Upon welcoming us Heidi showed us all the common space including a help yourself butler's pantry where you could help yourself to early coffee, wine glasses, store cheese and snacks in the mini refrigerator, etc. The living room is also set out with local maps and travel info for the area. They also recommended two very fine restaurants for dinner Havana and Mache Bistro. My husband dubbed these the best two restaurants of our entire coastal Maine trip. We stayed in the Edgemere room which was beautifully appointed with a comfy king bed, fireplace, large wardrobe, ironing board andiron, tv, two wing chairs, and a modern bath including heated floors. Each morning you are treated to one of Gary's special breakfasts. We had the opportunity to enjoy his asparagus, sundried tomato and feta quiche and his sinful pineapple upside down french toast. The Atlantean is located in the very busy town of Bar Harbor but you don't this once you are on its quiet side street. If in Bar Harbor again, we would definitely return to the Atlantean!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Atlantean Cottage is the best B&B I have ever stayed in in America. From the moment arrived Gary and Heidi made my stay a pleasure. I stayed in the one room on the ground floor, which is a superb room, spacious with its own entrance and porch. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the bathroom luxurios. The "common" rooms - which are extensive for a B&B - and the gardens are gracious and well tended. I particularly liked that Gary and Heidi have provided cutlery, crockery and a fridge in the annex to the breakfast room which is very handy if you dont feel like eating out for each meal. I cant praise the inn enough and to top it all when i left an item by mistake in the room, i was e mailed immediately by Gary and Heidi and the item despatched to me by UPS. A wonderful experience!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good and the internet photos dont do them justice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The property is spectacular, tucked away, yet a short walk away from the center of town. The gardens are superbly maintained. Our room was a 3 room suite + bath that was outstanding value since we snagged it right before the summer rate took effect. Gary and Heidi are most gracious hosts and add a personal welcoming touch without overdoing it - a delicate balance to be sure. They're full of easy conversation, good local recommendations and small kindnesses (e.g. lending us a CD for a self-guided Acadia tour on a rainy day). The breakfasts were delicious, and the coffee, strong. We look forward to returning.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I am already feeling a bit homesick for The Atlantean Inn as I write this from a supposedly "luxury" hotel in Boston. The Atlantean is true luxury in terms of comfort, service, and location.
We stayed three nights in The Wingwood room. Having never stayed at a B&B, I was concerned I wouldn't like the experience. I feared we would lack privacy and amenities. Not at all the case. It truly felt like we were at home and I have never slept so well at a hotel.

Gary and Heidi were incredibly welcoming, but never intrusive. We certainly appreciated their advice on how best to explore Bar Harbor and Acadia.

I cannot think of anything that could have improved our stay. Truly a gem.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Our 6 night stay at the Atlantean Cottage could not have been more enjoyable. Our hosts, Heidi and Gary were incredibly friendly and so helpful in giving suggestions for what to do during our stay.
Our room, the Talyrand, was wonderful. It was charming and quiet. I particularly loved the steam shower.
The Inn is close to everything that Bar Harbor has to offer yet it is located down a quiet little lane.
The breakfasts that Gary served up were out of this world. The best i have had anywhere.
We will be returning to the Atlantean for sure.

Room Tip: We loved the Talyrand room but the others look fabulous too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Atlantean b&b during our honeymoon and had a great time. Our room was impeccably clean and quaint. Heidi and Gary did an incredible job with breakfast, absolutely delicious. They also had many novelties available in the pantry for our convenience. The inn is located within steps of all the action bar harbor has to offer. Wonderful place and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantean Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantean Cottage

Address: 11 Atlantic Avenue, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantean Cottage is the name given to this lovely Tudor cottage, the personal residence of renowned Bar Harbor architect Frederick Savage. You'll find no more tranquil, quiet locale so very close to the best restaurants, galleries, museums, and shops. On a peaceful lane between Main Street and the ocean lies this serene getaway just around the corner from all that Bar Harbor Village has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantean Cottage Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantean Cottage Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantean Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.