We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Displays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbe Museum

Abbe Museum
26 Mount Desert Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 66 things to do in Bar Harbor
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Abbe Museum shares the history and culture of Maine’s Native people, collectively known as the Wabanaki (Penobscot, Passamaquoddy, Micmac, and Maliseet), and operates from two locations in Bar Harbor. At our downtown location, visitors find dynamic exhibitions and activities interspersed with spaces for quiet reflection. At the Abbe’s historic trailside museum at Sieur de Monts Spring, guests can experience early 20th century archaeological discoveries informed by 21st century science. The downtown Abbe Museum serves guests year-round, while the Sieur de Monts Spring location is open seasonally from mid-May to mid-October. Admission includes both locations. Located in an historic downtown district, we offer clean restrooms, several nearby restaurants and Bar Harbor attractions, and nearby motorcoach parking. Other amenities may be offered with notice. The History of the Abbe Museum: First opened to the public in 1928, the Abbe Museum is named for its founder, Dr. Robert Abbe, an eminent New York physician and beloved summer resident of Bar Harbor. During the 1920s, Dr. Abbe assembled a collection of early Native American artifacts found in the Frenchman Bay area which launched the museum at Sieur de Monts Spring. In 2001, we opened our second facility in a renovated historic landmark in downtown Bar Harbor. Today, the Abbe offers changing exhibitions and a robust programming schedule for all ages. Our museum shop is a destination for unique gifts and art and shipping is offered.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Interesting Displays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The exhibits were well presented and gave a good overview of local history. Particularly enjoyed the history of Bar Harbor.

Visited June 2012
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blue Hill, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Abbe Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Must rate this very good to excellent with the following caution. This is a specialty site devoted to early island history buffs. The garden alongside is small and relatively dull. This is a place children will quickly become bored and restless. The displays are professional and unique. Small in size but the only place on the island to find early history artifacts.

Visited August 2012
1 Thank Lloyd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon C, Manager at Abbe Museum, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you visiting the Abbe Museum earlier this year and for your kind words about the Abbe. In re: to your concerns about children's entertainment, I am wondering if you visited the downstairs of the museum where we have an interactive children's room? We always have space for kids and families to interact in the museum and we regularly integrate "hands on" components in our exhibits. We are committed to shared and individual learning experiences and are always looking to add new elements to our exhibits. In addition, we have numerous programs throughout the year, designed for a variety of audiences. I encourage you to visit again - when we re-open in February we will have our new exhibition, Wabanaki Guides, open to the public. It promises to be another blockbuster exhibit and fun for the whole family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sunday Afternoon Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This museum showed how the Wabanaki people not only survived, but thrived with the ever-changing immigration onto the Desert Island, Their meditation room was cool!

Visited October 2012
1 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
127 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

While traveling around Acadia, we saw mention of Abbe Museum. However, it wasn't until we visited Bar Harbor did we encounter this cultural institution. First, the female employee who we spoke with was forthcoming about local history. Then, we walked the exhibits and learned a great deal about Native Americans and the wealthy who frequented the Bar Harbor area. The museum was very helpful in understanding life in this part of Maine.

Visited November 2012
Thank bahiadreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, CT
Level Contributor
132 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“interesting Habanaki people museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This museum is dedicated to the Habanaki tribes that lived in Maine historically and presently. The museum is laid out nicely and the archaeological displays from several digs were well presented and quite interesting. The main museum is in Bar Harbor and the older original museum in in Acadia National Park off the Loop Road. I understand there are many more artifacts at this location but, unfortunately, they close this facility at the end of October and we missed it by one day. Admission is a modest six dollars and is worth it.

Visited October 2012
Thank aablodgett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbe Museum also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island

Been to Abbe Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing