We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay and Hope to Stay Again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Motel & Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edgewater Motel & Cottages
Save
You added Edgewater Motel & Cottages to your Saves list
Old Bar Harbor Rd., Salisbury Cove, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Port Allegany, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay and Hope to Stay Again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We loved our stay at The Edgewater! We spent four days and three nights at the Hayloft Suite and couldn't have enjoyed it more. It was large, comfortable and extremely clean. We had a private deck overlooking an inlet off of Salisbury Cove. That is actually how we felt, like we were in our own quiet world. Dave and Jayne were friendly and warm, giving us directions, ideas and recommendations on restaurants in the Bar Harbor area. We had a fire in our fireplace every night and spent a good deal of time on the deck watching the gulls and enjoying a glass of wine or a cup of coffee. It just couldn't have been a better experience and we found it very affordable. I don't know we'll be able to come back to Bar Harbor, but when we do, we'll be staying at The Edgewater and no where else! Thanks Dave and Jayne!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    44
    1
    5
    1
See reviews for
29
101
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Realized after arrival that would have been a great mistake for us. If you want a real seaside experience away from all the busyness of Bar Harbor and traffic on highway 3, this is it. It's just a few miles to town and Acadia Nat'l Park, but light-years away from the chaos. The motel (a total of 8 units on 2 floors) and cottages are all located at water's edge on Salisbury Cove. We just spent eight nights in #26, one of the newly renovated (2013) motel rooms. It had a queen bed, complete kitchen, comfy sofa and lounge chair, and fireplace that burns dura flame logs you buy at the office. New inverter heat and a/c is quiet and efficient, good lighting, flat screen TV (although we never turned it on.) A three-paneled sliding glass door overlooked the balcony and bay. Lovely, peaceful & quiet. Cottages appear more vintage,but private, quaint and cozy. Walk the rocks at low tide or gaze at the scenery on a rainy day.. a very comfortable refuge after a day in the park. The owners and entire staff were helpful and accommodating. Grounds are beautifully landscaped and the rooms very clean. The wireless worked fine most of the time, however there were times we couldn't connect. We travel a great deal, staying in a variety of mid-range hotels. This one goes to the top of the list.

Room Tip: Visit their website or call them to see pictures/layouts of each room and cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

What a perfect location - on Salisbury Bay, near Bar Harbour and Acadia National Park! The views from our front windows were fantastic! This location sits on the shoreline! What a terrific place to sit in the lawn chairs several feet from the the water and enjoy your coffee!
We are very thankful the friendly owners invite visitors to share this special place!
In addition, the rooms are very clean and nicely decorated! Well done!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here to bike in Acadia for a weekend early in the season. Wonderful spot on Salisbury Cove (about 5 miles from Bar Harbor), beautiful views, quiet and peaceful. We stayed in the motel, rooms renovated this past winter, clean and very spacious, all with water views and balconies, some with kitchenettes. There are also sweet cottages of varying sizes, again right by the water. You can bring your own kayak to put in. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here this weekend and the place had everything we needed. Full kitchen with all the basics, a beautiful view, and the staff is very kind. Just 10 minutes from downtown Bar Harbor, which is good because it is away from the hustle and bustle. Coffee is ready for you every morning :)

Room Tip: Make sure you have a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in the Seaview suite. We had a great porch that looked over the Salisbury Cove, just feet from the water of the Eastern Bay. Excellent scenery to see birds, the lobstermen and beautiful sunsets from the porch. High and low tides are amazing. You can watch rocks get covered as the water surrounds the cove. The view from the living room and kitchen was amazing. Very quiet and relaxing. The rooms aren't luxurious, but are comfortable, well maintained, and dated. The suite we stayed in had tons of space. Would be a great value for families, and those who want a quiet getaway. Easy access to Bar Harbor downtown (6 miles away - driving time is 10 minutes), Acadia National Park in Hull Cove Entrance (3.5 miles away - driving time is 5 minutes) and 5.7 miles (10 minutes away driving) to the best lobster pound - Trenton Bridge Lobster Pound.

Direction: If you are heading westbound on Route 3 coming from Bar Harbor, turn right onto Old Bar Harbor Road after you see "Bar Harbor Campground". If you see Best Western, you have passed the Old Bar Harbor Road. Make a right on Norway Drive and continue to the end of the road. Make a left at the T intersection. You will see Edgewater on your right after traveling 200 feet. If you are traveling eastbound on Route 3 coming from Trenton, make a left when you see "Mount Desert Island Biological Lab". Edgewater is located approximately 600 feet away on the left.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent two nights here as our home base for exploring Acadia National Park. Nice and quiet, clean, and comfortable. The views are great, but notice that it is partially obstructed by another cottage. Staff was friendly. Nice to park right next to the cottage too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Motel & Cottages

Address: Old Bar Harbor Rd., Salisbury Cove, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bar Harbor
#21 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Edgewater Motel And Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Edgewater Hotel Bar Harbor
Edgewater Motel Bar Harbor
Edgewater Motel & Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Motel & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.