We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and nice friendly people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blaze

Blaze
198 Main St, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
207-801-2755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 105 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
PLUMAS LAKE
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food and nice friendly people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

It was great to relax and enjoy some good wood fired food and sample some of the many beers on tap. They have a great selection, even though it was the off season and many taps were gone. Even with the limited selection, they still had more choices than any other place in town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    120
    53
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Truckee, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lobsters and Mussels, a Winning Combination!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had gotten off of our cruise ship for the day and happened to walk past this fabulous, trendy restaurant. The special menu written on a chalk board lured us in--Two lobsters, a bucket of mussels, corn cob, potatoes, and a whole bottle of wine--for $50 (not each, but total!) Who could resist? We sat outside enjoying the fine October weather and I received my initiation into the world of steamed and tender mussels. I don't know why I had resisted before. Our (blonde) waitress was attentive and filled us in about the owner's other restaurants as well as the practicalities of living in Bar Harbor. We topped off our lunch with blueberry pie a la mode--delicious: we were happy and full!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, New Brunswick, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hmm.. A better bartender maybe?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Arrived at 8:30 with four friends hoping to eat and drink. When we sat down the bartender said "yeh, I guess you can have a drink while I clean up"...then proceeded to do exactly that! Didn't offer food so even though it was a half hour before closing, we were apparently not welcome to order food! Had a beer and went on our way. Too bad, our friend had taken us there for the pizza, which he said was very good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vassalboro, Maine, United States
1 review
“Cater my wedding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I will be getting married on the island next summer and quickly convinced my fiancé that we should contact Blaze to possibly cater our special day after I had one meal there. It was the atmosphere, smell and experience that did it for me, too. All the meal choices were excellent, our service was great, the beer selection was awesome, and I wrote the manager the next day asking for information. Don't miss this place the next time you visit Bar Harbor!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Best Wood Fired Pizza I have Ever Eaten!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Half of our group wanted to eat lobster again and half of us wanted something else. Blaze met all of our needs. Two diners shared the Shore Dinner with steamed mussels and whole steamed lobsters. Yum! The other three of us shared two pizzas and still had leftovers. We ordered the seasonal specials- one prosciutto and pineapple and one Autumn pizza. The Autumn pizza had goat cheese, butternut squash, arugula, and sliced apples. The wood fired oven dried the apples and roasted the squash, giving the pizza a most unique taste. I loved it! The crust was amazing, making it the most delicious pizza I have ever had.

Of course, we ordered seasonal desserts which were home runs also. Again, very creative and delicious. We heard that they are opening a restaurant in Bangor also and can't wait to try that.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blaze also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Blaze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blaze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.