We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holbrook House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holbrook House
Save
You added Holbrook House to your Saves list
74 Mount Desert Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 34 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our room w/ private bath was very nice, clean, spacious tub/shower bathroom. The room was small, with a very comfortable bed. We did not go there to spend time in our room so it was adequate. The food was excellent. Eric and Michelle are the owners. Michelle 's breakfasts were delicious with something different all all three mornings. Also available for early risers were breads, pastries, juices, coffee and tea. Michelle bakes all the breads and pastries. Eric was helpful and informative about restaurants, and a good history of Bar Harbor and the house. Be sure to go to Acadia National Park and Cadilac mountain. We took photographs, but a camera cannot capture the real beauty. My only complaint is there is no TV in the rooms. It would be nice to catch up on what is going on in the world. With no TV I tried to read, but the lighting was so poor that I could not read. Larger wattage bulbs would fix that problem. I would go back any chance I had.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a private bath, but it is across the hall. Ask before you book a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    13
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
81
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wells, ME
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This will be a quick review. I have never reviewed a hotel twice but The Holbrook House deserves another round of applause. We decided to take a quick two day trip to Bar Harbor to check out the fall colors at Acadia National Park. The off-season rates and the expectation of another great stay prompted my wife and I to return to this delightful B&B. We were not disappointed. Our room was comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious. Eric and Michelle are wonderful hosts and we enjoyed their attention and the companionship of the other guests staying there. This is their second season providing a relaxing atmosphere and we're sure this will continue to be the case. You might want to book early if you are planning a trip to Bar Harbor next spring or summer. You'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Lovely appointed rooms and very clean. Food was excellent. Michelle is a great cook and puts out a goody spread from 3 to 9pm daily,including lemonade and coffee. Our room, the rose room was very small with a private bath across the hall. It was secluded with a curtain and plush robes are also provided. The bed and linens were very nice. Eric was very helpful with things to do and places to eat. I picked this place because of the convenience and short walking distance to the town. Do not miss the chance to go to Acadia National Park and drive up Cadilac mountain, breath taking views. Maine is a most beautiful states to behold!! Want to go back soon.

Room Tip: Any room very nice size varies with price. We stayed in the smallest room but all we did there was s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I had a very nice stay here. I wanted a place that was quiet, charming, comfortable, and clean. This was it! The rooms are very comfortable, the place is spic and span. They serve an excellent breakfast of all home made stuff, and a great afternoon tea. I had 2 great nights of sleeping with the windows wide open!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our two night stay at Holbrook house was delightful. Our hosts, Michelle and Eric, made sure everything was picture perfect and the yummy breakfasts could not have been nicer. It is indeed a short walk to town and the Acadia National Park, just a mile away, was a wonder to behold for this Florida girl!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is our favorite B&B in Bar Harbor, and it is a true value in any location. Great accommodations, great food, and great hosts -- all at a great price! You will not be disappointed. Eric, Michelle, Susan, and all of the staff work very, very hard to please. If you have ever stayed at Holbrook House, then you know all there is to know. If you have never stayed at Holbrook House, then give it a try. You will be very happy on your first visit and happier still to stay in the future without any need (or desire) to shop around. You will have found the best -- at a truly great price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Usually when we come to Bar Harbor, we stay in our RV. However, since we recently sold said RV, we opted for a Bed and Breakfast right downtown for our most recent stay. Upon arrival, we had only 15 minutes to wait for our room to be ready and we were at least two hours ahead of check-in time. We were impressed by the size and cleanliness of the room. We stayed in the Blueberry Patch room, which has its own entrance from the over-sized front farmer's porch. We originally thought this would afford a quieter room, since it was a corner room and had a separate entrance. And, we certainly couldn't hear others in rooms next door. But, it was a bit noisier since it was closer to the road. The traffic noise didn't keep us up; but, a lighter sleeper may have been disturbed by this. The upside to the traffic is it means you can walk right downtown in minutes. This was a definite perk after having to drive everywhere we wanted to go from the campground.

Eric and Michelle were wonderful hosts, friendly, attentive and very helpful with local dining options. From talking to Eric at mealtimes and periodically throughout the day, we learned that they have only owned the B&B for several years. They have done some really nice remodeling in the common rooms and are gradually going over the individual rooms as well.

What separates The Holbrook House from other B&B's in the area. One word - BREAKFAST!
Michelle is quite the cook. The breakfasts she whipped were nothing short of amazing! In fact, there are always treats available for guests to enjoy. In the early morning, there are fruit, yogurt, muffins and other baked goods, fresh baked bread for toast and coffee, tea and juice. In the afternoon, there are scones, cookies and coffee and tea. There are even wine glasses for guests to enjoy their own wine in the dining room. It was very easy to feel comfortable here, in fact...right at home.

We would definitely come back and stay with Eric and Michelle again! The Holbrook House was exactly what you would expect from a bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the rear of the building. It would be quieter. There is a back entrance from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holbrook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbrook House

Address: 74 Mount Desert Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holbrook House is a ten room, three suite B&B built in 1876, located in the historic district within walking distance of downtown Bar Harbor. All guest rooms have a private bath and a/c; some feature a fireplace or private porch. Each morning we include a home cooked breakfast and afternoon tea with homemade treats. We look forward to your stay with us as you explore beautiful Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Open May to October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holbrook House Hotel Bar Harbor
Holbrook House Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holbrook House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.